Filmmaker Atom Egoyan, singer-songwriter Sarah McLachlan and director Jean-Marc Vallée are among the 2015 winners of the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards.

Five Canadians were named for the country's highest honour for lifetime artistic achievement at an announcement Thursday morning in Montreal, Victoria, Vancouver and Toronto and via live stream.

  • Walter Boudreau, C.M., composer, conductor and artistic director
  • Atom Egoyan, film and stage director
  • Diana Leblanc. actress and director
  • Sarah McLachlan, singer, songwriter
  • R.H. Thomson, C.M., actor, director, producer and arts advocate

The award is accompanied with a $25,000 cash prize contributed by the Canada Council for the Arts and a commemorative medallion produced by the Royal Canadian Mint. 

McLachlan, 47, who has eight studio albums under her belt, told the Canadian Press that she was feeling "amazing, thrilled, humbled, a little bit surprised" in advance of accepting her award.

"It's a bit like when I got the Order of Canada. I feel like, 'But I'm not done yet. Aren't I supposed to get this when I'm 70?"' she added with a laugh.

Also honoured 

Jean-Marc Vallée, the Montreal-born director of Wild and Dallas Buyers Club is also being recognized with the 2015 National Arts Centre Award.

TIFF 2014 Director Jean-Marc Vallee Wild

Director Jean-Marc Vallée is getting the National Arts Centre Award, which includes at $25,000 cash prize. (David Donnelly/CBC)

The distinction comes with a $25,000 cash prize from the NAC.

Philanthropist Michael M. Koerner was named as the recipient of the Ramon John Hnatyshyn Award for Volunteerism.

The awards will be handed out by Canada's Governor General David Johnston at a special ceremony in Ottawa's Rideau Hall on May 29. The recipients will be celebrated with a star-studded gala featuring special performances and tributes at the National Arts Centre on May 30. 

Tickets for the gala are available at the NAC box office and through Ticketmaster.

Founded in 1992, the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards are given to Canadians whose accomplishments are deemed to have inspired and enriched the country.

With files from The Canadian Press