The Art Gallery of Ontario has announced its shortlist for the Aimia/AGO Photography Prize.

One of four finalists will win a prize of $50,000, and the winner will be chosen entirely by a public vote on the AGO's website and Facebook page. The remaining finalists will receive a $5,000 honorarium. Voting closes Nov. 5, and the winner will be announved on Nov. 7.

Canada's Erin Shirreff, Mexico's Edgardo Aragon, Japan's Chino Otsuka and LaYota Ruby Frazier of the U.S. were chosen by a jury led by Elizabeth Smith, former AGO executive director of curatorial affairs, from a longer list of 14.

"As a group, these four artists represent a snapshot of current directions in photography and video, in which images are used to build powerful, complex and often personal narratives," the AGO said in a statement.

The artists will be granted a fully funded six-week residency in Canada next year, and their work is scheduled to debut at the AGO in September.

The Aimia/AGO Photography Prize was formerly known as the Grange Prize until this year. The AGO said in May that the prize had been expanded "with a greater international focus and a new national scholarship program fostering the development of photographers across the country."

Former Canadian winners of the Grange Prize include Kristan Horton in 2010 and Sarah Anne Johnson in 2008.