[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Madeleine (Mado DubéPC563171.59%X
Jean Louis JohnsonLIB200025.43%
Michel BosséNDP2352.99%
September 20, 2:29:00 PM ADT40 of 40 polls reporting

Edmundston - Saint-Basile (54)


PC: Madeleine Dubé (incumbent)
LIB: Jean Louis Johnson
NDP: Michel Bossé

District Profile:
The riding is in the northwest corner of the province, and includes city of Edmundston and St-Basile Reserve No 10. This is a swing seat that has traditionally voted for the person, not the party. Over 90 per cent of the people in this riding list French as their mother tongue.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window54 Edmundston - Saint-Basile (926 kb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
Edmundston was a new riding in 1967.

PC: 2003, 1999, 1995.
LIB: 1991, 1987, 1986 byelection.
PC: 1982, 1974, 1970.
LIB: 1967.

This new district, created in the 2006 redistribution, encompasses the electoral district of Edmundston. This district was also changed in 1995. Under that alteration, it kept all old ridings (7,171 voters) and added: from Madawaska Centre, adds, in north, three polls (includes Boucher); from Madawaska-les-Lacs, adds, in west, one poll and part of another.

Political History:
2003: PC MADELEINE(MADO) DUBÉ won the seat with 3,917 votes. 2006: DUBÉ appointed minister of family and community services, and minister responsible for the N.B. Advisory Council on Seniors.
1999: DUBÉ defeated LIB ROLAND BEAULIEU by 1,394 votes.
1995: PC BERNARD VALCOURT defeated BEAULIEU by 1,412 votes. VALCOURT was N.B. PC Leader from May 13 1995, to October 1997.
1991: BEAULIEU defeated PC PAT DALP� by 2,530 votes. BEAULIEU appointed minister of intergovernmental affairs, April 27 1994.
1987: BEAULIEU defeated PC PIUS BARD by 3,139 votes. Oct. 27, 1987 to 1991: BEAULIEU appointed minister of tourism, recreation and heritage.
1982: PC JEAN-MAURICE SIMARD defeated LIB LAURIER LEVESQUE by 821 votes. Oct. 30, 1982: SIMARD appointed minister of public service reform. After Simard was appointed to Senate on June 26, 1985, a byelection was held. In 1986, LIB ROLAND BEAULIEU defeated PC CHARLES FOURNIER by 821 votes.
1978: SIMARD defeated LIB DONALD D'AMOURS by 758 votes.
1974: SIMARD defeated LIB J.C. ANGERS by 837 votes. 1976 to Nov. 21, 1978: SIMARD appointed chair of Treasury Board.
1970: SIMARD first elected, (Simard was known as then Premier Richard Hatfield's "French Lieutenant"). Nov. 12, 1970 to 1974: SIMARD appointed minister of finance.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]