[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Larry R. KennedyLIB404071.57%X
Chris McLaughlinPC145125.7%
Paul KendalNDP1542.73%
September 20, 2:29:00 PM ADT35 of 35 polls reporting

Victoria - Tobique (51)


PC: Chris McLaughlin
LIB: Larry Kennedy (incumbent)
NDP: Paul Kendal

District Profile:
This district, on the western border along the St. John and Tobique rivers, includes all the parishes of Andover, Denmark, Perth, Gordon, Lorne, including the villages of Plaster Rock, Perth-Andover and Aroostook; Tobique 20 Reserve. Main industries are logging/forestry and potato farming. The total population is 12,025.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window51 Victoria - Tobique (3.32 mb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
Victoria, a new riding in 1974, was a two-member seat until 1974.

LIB: 2003, 1999, 1997 byelection, 1995, 1991, 1987.
PC: 1982, 1978, 1976 byelection, 1974.

Redistribution in 2006 adds part of California Settlement from the electoral district of Grand Falls Region, and adds the areas of Upper Kent and Maplehurst from the electoral district of Carleton.

Political History:
2003: LIB LARRY KENNEDY defeated PC DENNIS CAMPBELL by 1,385 votes.
1999: KENNEDY defeated PC CARMAN PIRIE by 359 votes.
1995: KENNEDY defeated PC GREG INMAN by seven votes. After judicial recount and application to courts, N.B. Court of Appeal set aside election and new one was ordered. June 23, 1997 byelection: KENNEDY defeated INMAN by 449 votes.
1991: KENNEDY defeated PC NEVILLE CRABBE by 1,190 votes.
1987: KENNEDY defeated PC DOUGLAS MOORE by 1,661 votes.
1982: MOORE defeated LIB MAURICE DIONNE by 459 votes.
1978: MOORE defeated LIB BRUCE HOYT by 731 votes; March 14, 1978: MOORE appointed deputy Speaker
1974: PC STEWART BROOKS defeated LIB ROGER PELKEY by 400 votes. After resignation of Brooks on Oct. 20, 1976, byelection was held Nov 29. and PC MOORE was elected.
Before 1974: 1970, 1967, 1963, 1960, 1956, 1952: PC STEWART BROOKS elected in Victoria. 1957: Appointed minister of municipal affairs; August 1958: Minister of public works; November 1970: Minister of public works and highways; July 1972: Minister of agriculture and rural development; 1973: Chair of NB Electric Power Commission.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]