[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Dale A. GrahamPC414564.13%X
Gwen Cullins-JonesLIB208332.23%
Jason RobarNDP2353.64%
September 20, 2:29:00 PM ADT41 of 41 polls reporting

Carleton (50)


PC: Dale Graham (incumbent)
LIB: Gwen Cullins-Jones
NDP: Jason Robar

District Profile:
This district, on the western border of the province, includes the town of Hartland, the villages of Bath, Bristol, Centreville, Florenceville as well as Brighton, Wilmot, Simonds, Peel, Aberdeen, Kent and Wicklow parishes. Agriculture and related industries are the main industries in the area, considered to be the heart of New Brunswick's so-called Bible belt. The total population is 13,674.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window50 Carleton (1.14 mb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
New district was created in the 1995 redistribution from all of Carleton North riding and all but southwest corner of Carleton Centre.

Both Carleton Centre and Carleton North:
LIB: 1991, 1987.
PC: 1982, 1978, 1974.

Carleton North:
PC: 1993 byelection.

PC: 2003, 1999, 1995.

In 2006, redistribution subtracted the areas of Upper Kent and Maplehurst, transferring them to the electoral district of Victoria-Tobique. Part of the communities of Avondale, Deerville, Weston and Wilmot have been added to the riding, and were previously part of the riding of Woodstock.

Political History:
2003: PC DALE GRAHAM defeated LIB GRANT ROBINSON by 1,903 votes. GRAHAM sworn in as minister of supply and services, and deputy premier on June 27, 2003.
1999: GRAHAM defeated LIB DAVID HARVEY 1,321 votes. June 17, 1999: GRAHAM appointed deputy premier, minister of supply and services. Oct. 9, 2001: No change in cabinet shuffle.
1995: GRAHAM defeated LIB BUTCH GREEN by 800 votes.
CARLETON NORTH (new riding in 1974)
1991: HARVEY defeated GRAHAM by 131 votes. After resignation of HARVEY, a byelection was held on June 28, 1993, and GRAHAM, running again, defeated LIB DEANE CRABBE by 831 votes.
1987: HARVEY defeated PC CHARLES GALLAGHER by 724 votes.
1974-1982: GALLAGHER, elected in Carleton in 1970, won Carleton North in 1974, 1978 and 1982. GALLAGHER served as minister of education then minister of health and became Speaker in October 1985.
CARLETON CENTRE (new riding in 1974)
1991: LIB ALLISON DeLONG defeated PC MARY HATFIELD (niece of Richard) by 700 votes.
1987: LIB ALLISON DeLONG defeated PC RICHARD HATFIELD by 934 votes.
1974-1982: PC RICHARD HATFIELD elected. He was premier from Nov. 12, 1970, to Oct. 27, 1987.
1961-1970: PC RICHARD HATFIELD elected in Carleton County byelection, 1961; re-elected in Carleton in 1963, 1967, 1970.
CARLETON (before division in 1974):
Carleton was a three-member seat until 1974. With the exception of one Liberal in 1948, Carleton elected three Conservatives from 1935-1970.
1911-1960: H.F. FLEMMING, premier from 1952-60, was elected in Carleton in 1944, 1948, 1952, 1956, 1960. JAMES K. FLEMMING, premier from 1911-1914, had been the member for Carleton.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]