[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Kirk Douglas MacDonaldPC406155.68%X
Larry JewettLIB285439.13%
Anne M. LeslieNDP3795.2%
September 20, 2:29:00 PM ADT48 of 48 polls reporting

York North (48)


PC: Kirk MacDonald (incumbent)
LIB: Larry Jewett
NDP: Anne Leslie

District Profile:
This south-central New Brunswick district includes the village of Stanley, and parishes of Queensbury, Bright, Douglas, Saint Mary's, and part of Stanley Parish.

Industries include agriculture, logging and forestry. The total population is 14,169.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window48 York North (4.05 mb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
Created in 1995 redistribution from all of York North except for northeast and southwest corners.

York North:
COR: 1991.
LIB: 1987.
PC: 1982, 1978, 1974.

PC: 2003, 1999.
LIB: 1995.

Redistribution in 2006 transferred the areas of McLeod Hill and Douglas to the electoral district of Fredericton-Nashwaaksis, and transferred the area of McGivney to the electoral district of Southwest Miramichi. The town of Nackawic, the village of Millville and the parish of Southhampton have been added to Mactaquac from the electoral district of York.

Political History:
2003: PC KIRK MACDONALD defeated LIB RAY DILLON by 101 votes. Feb. 14, 2006: MACDONALD sworn in as minister of Business New Brunswick.
1999: MACDONALD defeated LIB DAVID OLMSTEAD by 2,020 votes.
1995: OLMSTEAD defeated PC DON PARENT by 975 votes.
YORK NORTH (new seat in 1974)
1991: COR GREG HARGROVE defeated LIB BOB SIMPSON by 1,638 votes. HARGROVE, after being nominated and running second in leadership race in June, declared he wouldn't be running again. After meeting of COR MLAs and candidates, HARGROVE came out as leader July 20, 1995.
1987: LIB SIMPSON defeated PC DAVID BISHOP by 3,507 votes.
1974-1982: BISHOP elected in 1974 byelection, 1974 election and in 1978 and 1982.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]