[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Greg ByrneLIB335449.05%X
William ForrestallPC242735.49%
Allison BrewerNDP105715.46%
September 20, 2:29:00 PM ADT38 of 38 polls reporting

Fredericton - Lincoln (44)


PC: William Forrestall
LIB: Greg Byrne
NDP: Allison Brewer

District Profile:
The total population is 13,816.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window44 Fredericton - Lincoln (796 kb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
Fredericton-Fort Nashwaak was created as a new riding in 1995, from parts of Fredericton North and Fredericton South.

LIB: 2003
PC: 1999
LIB: 1995

This new district includes parts of the city of Fredericton on the south side of the St. John River, east of Regent Street, stretching through Lincoln. It includes the University of New Brunswick, parts of commercial and residential downtown, and the rural settlements stretching east toward Oromocto. Some of the district had previously been part of Fredericton-Fort Nashwaak and Fredericton South; the rest belonged to the district of New Maryland.

Political History:
Fredericton, new in 1967, was a 2-member seat (took 2 members from York).
2003:LIB KELLY LAMROCK defeated PC ERIC MACKENZIE by 595 votes, with 2,938 votes.
1999: MACKENZIE defeated LIB GREG BYRNE 264 votes. May 14, 1998: BYRNE appointed minister of justice, attorney general, min responsible for Service N.B., government house leader. July 21, 1997 to Feb. 6, 1998: BYRNE appointed minister of state for mines and energy. Resigned to run for LIB leadership.
1995: L BYRNE defeated PC BRENT BISHOP by 1,777 votes,
1991: LIB RUSS KING defeated COR MERYL SARTY by 1,289 votes.
1987: KING defeated PC DAVE CLARK by 4,712 votes.
1982: CLARK defeated LIB STEPHEN PATTERSON by 1,138 votes.
1978: PC BUD BIRD defeated PATTERSON by 1,273 votes.
1960-1974: PC EVERETT CHALMERS won in Fredericton in 1960, 1963, 1967, 1970 and in this riding in 1974.
1991: COR ED ALLEN defeated LIB JIM WILSON by 2,188 votes.
1987: WILSON defeated then PC ALLEN by 3,083 votes.
1978-1982: Then PC ALLEN won.
1968-1974: PC LAWRENCE GARVIE, elected in Fredericton riding in byelection on June 10, 1968, and 1970, won here in 1974.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]