[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Kelly LamrockLIB381657.68%X
Heather HughesPC280042.32%
September 20, 2:29:00 PM ADT38 of 38 polls reporting

Fredericton - Fort Nashwaak (43)


PC: Heather Hughes
LIB: Kelly Lamrock (incumbent)
NDP: no candidate

District Profile:
This district encompasses that part of the city of Fredericton that is east of the Westmorland Street bridge and northeast of the Ring Road, and N.B. Power transmission line #1126, including portions of Fredericton known as Devon, Marysville, Barkers Point and part of Nashwaaksis. The district also includes the communities of Burpee, Maugerville, Richibucto Road, Devon No. 30 Reserve, Lower Saint Marys, Noonan and St. Mary's No. 24 Reserve. The total population is 14,302.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window43 Fredericton - Fort Nashwaak (641 kb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
Fredericton-Fort Nashwaak was created as a new district in 1995, from parts of Fredericton North and Fredericton South.

LIB: 2003.
PC: 1999.
LIB: 1995.
Redistribution in 2006 has kept the riding of Fredericton-Fort Nashwaak mostly intact, adding the areas of Pepper Creek and the parish of Maugerville, which were previously part of the electoral district of Grand Lake, and subtracting the part of the riding that was on the south side of the St. John River.

Political History:
Fredericton, new in 1967, was a 2-member seat (took 2 members from York).
2003:LIB KELLY LAMROCK defeated PC ERIC MACKENZIE by 595 votes, with 2,938 votes.
1999: PC ERIC D. MACKENZIE defeated LIB GREG BYRNE 264 votes. May 14, 1998: BYRNE appointed minister of justice, attorney general, min responsible for Service N.B., government house leader. July 21, 1997 to Feb. 6, 1998: BYRNE appointed minister of state for mines and energy. Resigned to run for LIB leadership.
1995: BYRNE defeated PC BRENT BISHOP by 1,777 votes,
1991: LIB RUSS KING defeated COR MERYL SARTY by 1,289 votes.
1987: KING defeated PC DAVE CLARK by 4,712 votes.
1982: PC CLARK defeated LIB STEPHEN PATTERSON by 1,138 votes.
1978: PC BUD BIRD defeated LIB PATTERSON by 1,273 votes.
1960-1974: PC EVERETT CHALMERS won in Fredericton in 1960, 1963, 1967, 1970 and in this riding in 1974.
1991: COR ED ALLEN defeated LIB JIM WILSON by 2,188 votes.
1987: WILSON defeated then PC ALLEN by 3,083 votes.
1978-1982: PC ED ALLEN won.
1968-1974: PC LAWRENCE GARVIE, elected in Fredericton riding in byelection on June 10, 1968, and 1970, won here in 1974.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]