[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Jody CarrPC317966.41%X
Shelby MercerLIB145130.31%
Stephen BeamNDP1573.28%
September 20, 2:29:00 PM ADT34 of 34 polls reporting

Oromocto (40)


PC: Jody Carr (incumbent)
LIB: Shelby Mercer
NDP: Stephen Beam

District Profile:
This district, in central New Brunswick, is a blend of rural villages and an urban township, a military base and a native reserve. It includes the electoral district of Oromocto-Gagetown, minus the parishes of Hampstead, Gagetown, Johnston, Wickham and Cambridge Narrows, and the villages of Gagetown and Cambridge Narrows. Those areas have been transferred to the electoral district of Grand Lake-Gagetown. The district's total population is 14,136.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window40 Oromocto (2.1 mb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
COR: 1991.
LIB: 1987.
PC: 1982.
LIB: 1978, 1974.

PC: 2003, 1999.
LIB: 1995.

Oromocto-Gagetown was created in the 1995 redistribution all of the former Oromocto ridings and the southern part of Queens South. In the 2006 redistribution, the parishes of Hampstead, Gagetown, Johnston, Wickham and Cambridge Narrows, and the villages of Gagetown and Cambridge Narrows, which have been transferred from the electoral district of Oromocto-Gagetown to the district of Grand Lake-Gagetown.

Political History:
2003: PC JODY CARR defeated LIB MAURICE HARQUAIL by 2,173 votes. Feb.14, 2006: CARR sworn in as minister of post-secondary education.
1999: CARR defeated LIB RON LINDALA by 2,313 votes.
1995: LIB VAUGHN BLANEY defeated CARR by 1,676 votes. BLANEY had been elected in Queens South in 1987 and 1991. Had served as minister of municipal affairs, minister of environment, minister of advanced education and labour, minister of education. Sept. 21, 1995 to July 21, 1997: BLANEY served as minister of environment.
1991: COR ALBERT RECTOR defeated LIB TOM GILBERT by 161 votes. Rector became interim leader after resignation of DANNY CAMERON. Was leader for a few days between EWART'S resignation and GREG HARGROVE becoming leader in July 1995.
1987: GILBERT defeated PC JOE MOMBOURQUETTE by 2,430 votes.
1974-1982: LIB LeROY WASHBURN defeated PC REG MABEY by 100 votes. 1978: WASHBURN defeated PC JOHN McKEE by 55 votes. 1982: MOMBOURQUETTE defeated WASHBURN by 49 votes. Oct. 30, 1982: MOMBOURQUETTE appointed minister of labour and human resources; Oct. 3, 1985: Minister of labour.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]