[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Ed DohertyLIB269060.86%X
Idee InyangudorPC113925.77%
Dan RobichaudNDP54712.38%
David Raymond AmosIND441%
September 20, 1:55:00 PM ADT33 of 33 polls reporting

Saint John Harbour (34)


PC: Idee Inyangudor
LIB: Dr. Ed Doherty (incumbent)
NDP: Dan Robichaud
IND: David Amos

District Profile:
The district, unchanged in the 2006 redistribution, contains part of Saint John, including: Saint John Centre; that part of Saint John West, east of properties fronting on east side of city line road and its prolongation northerly to St. John River; that part of Saint John North of Route 1, east of Reversing Falls including Douglas Avenue, Chesley Road (part of Indiantown) and that part of Metcalf Street between Chesley Drive and Albert Street. According to the 1991 census, 81 per cent of dwellings were rented, by far the highest in the province. District also had highest incidence of low-income families in the province.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window34 Saint John Harbour (763 kb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
Saint John Harbour was created in 1974, and was previously known as Saint John South.

LIB: 2005 byelection.
LIB: 1974 to 1991 incl.
NDP: 1999, 1995, 2003.

District changed substantially in 1995 redistribution.Now consists of: Saint John South, about 6,386 voters become eastern part of this riding; Saint John Harbour, about 3,800 voters remain; that part east of Saint John Harbour in north & city line in south; small areas from Saint John Park and Saint John North. District's total population is 14,076.

Political History:
2003: ND ELIZABETH WEIR defeated PC DENNIS BOYLE by 639 votes. Oct, 15, 2005: WEIR resigned the seat to take a job with the PC government's newly formed energy conservation agency. Nov. 14, 2005 byelection: LIB ED DOHERTY won.
1999: WEIR defeated PC TIM CLARKE by 1,049 votes. LIB MARK MCNULTY was a close third.
1995: WEIR, NDP leader, incumbent from Saint John South, defeated LIB BOB HIGGINS by 1,088 votes.
1978-91: 1978, 1982, 1987, 1991: LIB LOUIS MURPHY won.
1991: WEIR defeated LIB JOHN MOONEY by 79 votes.
1987: MOONEY (elected 1974, defeated 1978) ran again and defeated ND DAVID BROWN by 558 votes. PC incumbent NANCY CLARK TEED was third.
1982: TEED defeated LIB BRIAN McCARTHY by 369 votes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]