[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Mary SchryerLIB362551.29% X
Brenda FowliePC310843.98%
Lorena (LA) HenryNDP3344.73%
September 20, 1:55:00 PM ADT 38 of 38 polls reporting

Quispamsis (30)


PC: Brenda Fowlie (incumbent)
LIB: Mary Schryer
NDP: Lorena (L.A.) Henry

District Profile:
This district, created in 2006, includes the electoral district of Kennebecasis, minus the part that is outside the town of Quispamsis, which is now transferred to the electoral district of Rothesay. The district's population is 13,470.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window30 Quispamsis (1.07 mb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
Kennebecasis, once known as Kings West, was a new riding in 1995.

Kings had been three-member seat.
3 PCs: 1970, 1967, 1963, 1962 byelection, 1960, 1956, 1952.
3 CONs: 1948, 1944, 1939.
3 LIBs: 1935.

Kings West:
LIB: 1991, 1987.
PC: 1982, 1978, 1974.

PC: 2003, 1999.
LIB: 1995.

This district was created in 2006.

Political History:
2003: PC BRENDA FOWLIE won the seat on a recount, defeating LIB MURRAY DRISCOLL by 19 votes.
1999: FOWLIE defeated LIB PETER LeBLANC by 1,682 votes. July 21, 1997 to May 14, 1998: LeBLANC appointed minister of supply and services, (not included in Premier Theriault's cabinet).
1995: LeBLANC defeated PC JOHN van KRALINGEN by 1,210 votes.
1991: LIB LAUREEN JARRETT defeated COR GLENDON JONES by 2,409 votes. Oct. 27, 1987 to October 1991: JARRETT appointed minister of income assistance. Oct. 9, 1991: JARRETT appointed minister of supply and services; April 27, 1994: Minister of state for mines and energy.
1987: JARRETT defeated ND GEORGE LITTLE by 2,320 votes.
1982: PC JACK BAXTER defeated LIB MALCOLM BARRY by 2,007 votes. GEORGE LITTLE, leader of N.B. NDP, was third with 25% of the vote. Oct. 30: BAXTER appointed minister of finance and housing, and minister responsible for housing policy; 1985: Minister of finance.
1970-1982: Dec. 3, 1962, 1963, 1967, 1970: BAXTER elected in Kings, and in 1974, 1978, 1982 in Kings West. Nov. 12, 1970 to 1974: BAXTER appointed minister of justice.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]