[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Bev HarrisonPC419558.63% X
Linda WatsonLIB178724.98%
Pat HanrattyNDP91812.83%
John SabineIND2553.56%
September 20, 1:55:00 PM ADT 44 of 44 polls reporting

Hampton - Kings (29)


PC: Bev Harrison (incumbent)
LIB: Linda Watson
NDP: Pat Hanratty
IND: John Sabine

District Profile:
This is a mixed district of rural communities and Saint John suburbs. It was created in 1995 from Kings Centre and included parts of the Kingston Peninsula, Long Island, Kennebecasis Island, Kings West – area including Hampton and area west of Hampton, including Nauwigewauk.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window29 Hampton - Kings (2.05 mb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
New riding in 1995.

Kings Centre:
LIB: 1991, 1987.
PC: 1982, 1978, 1974.

PC: 2003, 1999.
LIB: 1995.

Redistribution in 2006 kept the electoral district, minus the village of Norton and the areas of Moosehorn Creek and Clover Hill, which have been transferred to the electoral district of Kings East. Barnesville, Grove Hill and Hanford Brook have been added from the riding of Saint John-Fundy. Also, Titusville, Lakeside, Smithtown and French Village, and Kings County have been added to the district from the electoral district of Kennebecasis. Hampton-Belleisle's population is 14,470.

Political History:
2003: PC BEV HARRISON defeated LIB ROBERT BATES by 746 votes.
1999: HARRISON defeated LIB GEORGIE DAY by 1923 votes.

July 6: HARRISON elected Speaker.
1995: DAY defeated PC RON HATFIELD by 473 votes. Sept. 21, 1995: DAY appointed minister of state for literacy and adult education, and minister of state for youth; May 14, 1998: Minister of human resources development, N.B.
KINGS CENTRE (new riding in 1974)
1991: DAY defeated COR COLBY FRASER by 129 votes.
1987: LIB KAL SEAMAN defeated PC HAROLD FANJOY by 1,993 votes.
1974-1982: FANJOY won in 1974, 1978 and 1982.

1976 and 1978: FANJOY appointed minister of supply and services.

Oct. 30, 1982 to October 1985: Chair, Board of Management (chair, Treasury Board).
KINGS (before division in 1974):
Kings had been a three-member seat
1935-1970: 3 LIBs: 1935; 3 CONS: 1939, 1944, 1948; 3 PCs: 1952, 1956, 1960, 1962 byelection, 1963, 1967, 1970.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]