[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Bruce NorthrupPC407157.2% X
LeRoy ArmstrongLIB279839.31%
Dana Robert BrownNDP2483.48%
September 20, 1:55:00 PM ADT 39 of 39 polls reporting

Kings East (28)


PC: Bruce Northrup
LIB: LeRoy Armstrong (incumbent)
NDP: Dana Brown

District Profile:
The southern New Brunswick district includes the town of Sussex and the village of Sussex Corner in the centre, as well as the parishes of Hammond, Waterford, Cardwell, Studholm and Sussex. The district's population is 14,515. Industries include mining and agriculture (potash and dairy products).

Audio Feature: CBC Reporter Mike Crawley profiles this riding. (runs 10:28)
District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window28 Kings East (1.43 mb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
Kings was a three-member seat until 1974.

LIB: 2003.
PC: 1999.
LIB: 1995.
PC: 1991.
LIB: 1987.
PC: 1974, 1978, 1882.

Redistribution in 2006 subtracts the areas of Head of Millstream, Dubee Settlement and Carsonville, and transfers them to the district of Petitcodiac. The village of Norton and the area of Moosehorn Creek and Clover Hill are also added; they were previously part of the electoral district of Hampton-Belleisle.

Political History:
2003: LIB LeROY ARMSTRONG won the seat with 3,169 votes.
1999: PC DOUG COSMAN defeated ARMSTRONG by 1,890 votes.
1995: ARMSTRONG defeated PC HAZEN (HANK) MYERS by 44 votes.
1991: MYERS ran again and defeated LIB TIM WILSON by 28 votes.
1987: LIB PETE DALTON defeated MYERS by 1,925 votes.
1982: MYERS again defeated LIB GORDON LEWIS, this time by 1,647 votes.

Oct. 3, 1985: MYERS appointed minister of agriculture.
1978: MYERS defeated LIB GORDON LEWIS by 1,116 votes.
1974: PC GEORGE HORTON defeated LIB J.P. HYNES by 529 votes.

Dec. 3, 1974 to 1976: HORTON appointed minister of supply and services.
1963-1973: Kings was 3-member seat until 1974.

PC GEORGE HORTON was elected in byelection in Kings on Dec. 3, 1962, and was re-elected in 1963, 1967 and 1970.

1973: HORTON appointed minister of agriculture and rural development.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]