[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Michael B. MurphyLIB270549.18% X
Marie-Claude BlaisPC246944.89%
Cindy RixNDP3265.93%
September 20, 1:55:00 PM ADT 36 of 36 polls reporting

Moncton North (23)


PC: Marie-Claude Blais
LIB: Mike Murphy (incumbent)
NDP: Cindy Rix

District Profile:
A large working-class Moncton district with a mix of French, English and Irish, it is bound on the south by Mountain Road and Killam Drive; on the southeast by Archibald Street; on west, north and east by Wheeler Boulevard. The district's population is 14,497.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window23 Moncton North (513 kb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
New district in 1974.

Moncton had been a three-member seat.

LIB: 2003.

PC: 1999.

LIB: 1995, 1991, 1987, 1982, 1978, 1974.

Political History:
2003: LIB MIKE MURPHY defeated PC RENE (PEPSI) LANDRY by 511 votes.
1999: LANDRY defeated LIB GENE DEVEREUX by 1,472 votes.
1995: DEVEREUX defeated PC MARC LeBLANC by 3,194 votes. 1998 DEVEREUX appointed minister of environment.
Feb. 15, 1993: Byelection held after resignation of LIB MIKE McKEE, and LIB JOHN LEBANS defeated COR RICHARD MULLINS by 1,314 votes. June 26, 1995: LEBANS announced his resignation.
1991: McKEE defeated COR TOM TAYLOR by 3,017 votes.
1987:McKEE defeated ND CHRIS COLLINS by 5,471 votes. Oct. 27, 1987: McKEE appointed minister of labour, and minister responsible for multiculturalism.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]