[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Mike OlscampPC269054.41% X
John HighamLIB171834.75%
Virgil HammockNDP53610.84%
September 20, 1:55:00 PM ADT 30 of 30 polls reporting

Tantramar (18)


PC: Mike Olscamp
LIB: John Higham
NDP: Virgil Hammock

District Profile:
This district, in southeastern N.B., stretches from N.B./N.S. border in the east, to just outside Moncton in the west, and is divided in a linguistic line from the francophone communities of the Northumberland Strait. A diverse district, with fishing, farming and forestry as main industries. There is also a university, Mount Allison, in the town of Sackville, as well as a strong arts community. Dorchester Penitentiary is at the western end of the district, which includes Sackville, Dorchester, Port Elgin, Memramcook and the Cape Tormentine-Bayfield area.
District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window18 Tantramar (1.17 mb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
New district in 1974.
PC: 1978, 1974.
NDP: 1982.
LIB: 1995, 1991, 1987.
PC: 1999, 1997 byelection.
No changes in the 2006 redistribution. The district's total population is 10,620.

2003: PC PETER MESHEAU won with over 58 per cent of the vote.
1999: MESHEAU defeated ND HEATHER PATTERSON by 2,321 votes. LIB Kirk Meldrum was a close third. June 17: MESHEAU appointed minister of economic development, tourism and culture; Oct. 9, 2001: Appointed minister of finance, min responsible for NBLiquor Corp., NB Investment Management Corp and Atlantic Lotto Corp.
1997: Nov. 17, 1997 byelection: MESHEAU defeated LIB ROSS MONK by 39 votes.
1995: LIB MARILYN TRENHOLME defeated ND BERKELEY FLEMING by 2,570 votes. TRENHOLME was minister of state for family until she resigned; April 8, 1997: Appointed lieutenant governor.
1991: TRENHOLME defeated ND ROBERT HALL by 1,589 votes. Oct. 26, 1994 to 1997: TRENHOLME appointed minister of state for the family.
1987: TRENHOLME defeated HALL by 1335 votes.
1982: HALL defeated PC IRVIN ROBINSON by 440 votes.
1978: PC LLOYD FOLKINS defeated LIB JAMES PURDY by 95 votes.
1974: 1974: FOLKINS defeated LIB JOHN BRYDEN by 308 votes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]