[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
John Winston ForanLIB374755.62%X
George SmithPC273240.55%
Douglas T. MullinNDP2583.83%
September 20, 1:55:00 PM ADT 33 of 33 polls reporting

Miramichi Centre (12)


PC: George Smith
LIB: John Foran (incumbent)
NDP: Douglas Mullin

District Profile:
District, in northern New Brunswick, has western part of city of Miramichi, including former Newcastle, Douglastown, as well as parish of Nelson and part of Northesk parish. Sunny Corner is in the riding, as are Big Hole Tract 8 and Eel Grand 2 reserves.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window12 Miramichi Centre (1.88 mb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
New riding in 1995.


LIB:1991, 1987.
PC: 1982.
LIB: 1978, 1974.
Miramichi Centre:

LIB: 2003.
PC: 1999.
LIB: 1995.
In the 2006 redistribution, Miramichi Centre added part of the city of Miramichi know as Chatham Head and the area of Douglasfield from Miramichi-Bay du Vin. It lost part of the parish of Nelson, transferring it to Southwest Miramichi. It lost the part of Murray Settlement in the parish of Nelson, transferring it to Rogersville-Kouchibouguac. It lost part of the city of Miramichi known as part of Douglastown, transferring it to Miramichi Bay. The district's total population is 11,944.

Political History:
2003: LIB JOHN WINSTON FORAN won the seat with 3,673 votes.
1999: PC KIM JARDINE defeated LIB JOHN McKAY by 1,101 votes.

June 17: JARDINE appointed minister of environment; Oct. 9, 2001: Appointed minister of environment and local government.
1995: McKAY defeated PC PAUL DAWSON by 278 votes.
MIRAMICHI-NEWCASTLE (new riding in 1974)
1991: McKAY again defeated DAWSON, this time by 10 votes.
1987: McKAY defeated DAWSON by 786 votes.
1982: DAWSON defeated McKAY by 473 votes.

DAWSON appointed minister of economic development; 1985: Income assistance minister.
1978: McKAY defeated PC DOUGLAS WOODS by 73 votes.
1974: McKAY defeated PC EARLE McKENNA by 384 votes.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]