[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Claude LandryPC404353.38%X
Serge RousselleLIB328143.32%
Stéphane RichardsonIND2503.3%
September 20, 1:55:00 PM ADT 36 of 36 polls reporting

Tracadie - Sheila (9)


PC: Claude Landry
LIB: Serge Rousselle
NDP: no candidate
IND: Stéphane Richardson

District Profile:
This is a northeastern New Brunswick district, and includes Tracadie-Sheila, Pt. Landry, Saumarez, as well as St-Isidore, Saumarez and Inkerman parishes. In 1996 census, 95.5 per cent listed French as mother tongue.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window09 Tracadie - Sheila (913 kb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:

Tracadie - Sheila

PC: 1999, 1995.


PC: 1994 byelection.

LIB: 1991, 1988 byelection, 1987.
NDP: 1982.
PC: 1978, 1974.

In the 2006 redistribution, Tracadie - Sheila added part of Haut-Riviere-du-Portage and part of Riviere-du-Portage from Miramichi Bay. The areas of Pont-Landry and Losier Settlement were transferred to Centre-Peninsule. The district's total population is 12,068.
Political History:
2003: PC ELVY ROBICHAUD won with over 56 per cent of the vote.
1999: ROBICHAUD defeated LIB SERGE ROUSSELLE by 2,527 votes.
1995: ROBICHAUD defeated LIB GEORGE McLAUGHLIN by 411 votes.
1991: LIB DENIS LOSIER defeated PC COLETTE McGRAW by 4,271 votes.

Oct. 9, 1991: LOSIER appointed minister of economic development and tourism.

After resignation of LOSIER, a byelection was held Sept. 26, 1994, and ROBICHAUD defeated LIB AQUILA COMEAU by 1,356 votes.
1989: June 15, 1989 to Oct. 9, 1991: LOSIER appointed minister of fisheries and aquaculture.
1988: After LIB DOUG YOUNG resigned to run federally, a byelection was held Nov. 14, 1988, and LOSIER defeated IND YVON McGRAW by 4,269 votes.
1987: YOUNG (leader of N.B. Liberals from 1981-83) won in 1978, 1982 and 1987. Oct. 27, 1987: Appointed min of fisheries and aquaculture.
1978: PC PC FERNAND DUBÉ defeated LIB WILFRED SENECHAL by 267 votes.

1978 to 1982: DUBÉ appointed minister of finance, and min responsible for energy policy.
1994: April 27: LIB BERNARD THERIAULT appointed minister of fisheries and aquaculture.
1987-1991: THERIAULT won in 1987, 1991.
1982: PC EMERY ROBICHAUD defeated LIB ONIL DOIRON by 886 votes.
1974-1978: DOIRON won in 1974 and 1978.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]