[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Hédard AlbertLIB458063.46%X
Claude L'EspérancePC167723.16%
Stephane DoironNDP96613.39%
September 20, 1:55:00 PM ADT 34 of 34 polls reporting

Caraquet (6)


PC: Claude L'Espérance
LIB: Hédard Albert (incumbent)
NDP: Stephane Doiron

District Profile:
This district is in the northeast of the province, centred on the village of Caraquet, known as the unofficial capital of the Acadian peninsula.

According to the 1991 census, the district contains highest percentage of the population listing French as a mother tongue, at 96.6%.

The district consists of the part of Gloucester county contained in part of parish of New Bandon, the part of parish of Paquetville east of Petit Paquetville Road; parish of Caraquet excluding that portion south of Saint Simon; town of Caraquet; villages of Bertrand, Saint-Léolin, Grande-Anse, Bas-Caraquet and Maisonnette.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window06 Caraquet (1.02 mb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
New district in 1974.
PC: Byelection 2001.
LIB: 1999, 1995, 1991, 1987.
PC: 1982.
LIB: 1978, 1974.
In the 2006 redistribution, Caraquet added part of the community of Burnsville from the existing electoral district of Nepisiguit. It also added part of the community of Burnsville from the district of Centre-Peninsule. The district's total population is 11,969.

Political History:
2003: LIB HéDARD ALBERT won the seat with 3,649 votes.
2001: In the byelection PC GASTON MOORE defeated LIB ROBERTA DUGAS by 690 votes.
2000-1999: LIB BERNARD THERIAULT defeated PC GASTON MOORE by 825 votes.

THERIAULT resigned in Oct.2000.
1995-1998: THERIAULT defeated PC BERNARD HACH´┐Ż by 2,563 votes.

July 21, 1997: THERIAULT appointed minister of intergovernmental and aboriginal affairs; February 1998 to May 14, 1998: Added acting minister of education; May 14, 1998: Reappointed min for intergovernmental and aboriginal affairs.
1991-1994: THERIAULT defeated PC GILBERT GODIN by 3,019 votes.

April 27: 1994: THERIAULT appointed minister of fisheries and aquaculture.
1987: THERIAULT defeated PC EMERY ROBICHAUD by 1,134 votes.
1982: ROBICHAUD defeated LIB ONIL DOIRON by 886 votes.
1978: DOIRON defeated PC BEATRICE (BIBI) DOIRON by 1,116 votes.
1974: LIB ONIL DOIRON defeated PC FERNAND LANTEIGNE by 559 votes.
1935-1970: This district was created from former Gloucester district, Liberal from 1935 to 1970.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]