[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Brian KennyLIB322948.93%X
Nancy McKayPC304246.1%
Blair LindsayNDP3284.97%
September 20, 1:55:00 PM ADT 37 of 37 polls reporting

Bathurst (4)


PC: Nancy McKay
LIB: Brian Kenny (incumbent)
NDP: Blair Lindsay

District Profile:
Bathurst is an urban district in the northeastern end of the province. It sits on the coast of the Bay of Chaleur, taking in the city of Bathurst. It is considered to be a mixed French/English district. The percentage of people listing either French or English as mother tongue evenly split.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window04 Bathurst (639 kb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
New district in 1967.
LIB: Since 1967

In the 2006 redistribution, Bathurst lost part of the city of Bathurst south of Route 11 and east of Nepisiguit River and transferred it to the electoral district of Nepisiguit. The district's total population is 12,527.

Political History:
2003: LIB BRIAN KENNY won the seat with 3,348 votes.
1999: LIB MARCELLE MERSEREAU defeated PC BOB STAIRS by 991 votes.
1995: MERSEREAU defeated ND KIM POWER by 4,132 votes.

Sept. 21, 1995: Mersereau appointed minister of human resources development; May 14, 1998: Ministry of municipalities and housing, minister responsible for status of women.
1991: MERSEREAU defeated COR LAURIE ROBICHAUD by 2,767 votes.

PC CLAIRE WITT was third.
1987: LIB PAUL KENNY defeated PC RENÉ PRATT by 5,155 votes.
1982: KENNY defeated PC JIM MacLAGGAN by 586 votes. ND KEVIN MANN was third.
1978: KENNY defeated MANN by 491 votes. PC JOHN DUFFY was third, 101 votes behind the NDP.
1974: LIB EUGENE MCGINLEY, first elected in byelection in December 1972 after the death of Lib H.H. Williamson, defeated PC JEAN-PAUL LAVOIE by 1,032 votes.

Williamson had been elected in Gloucester in 1960 and 1963, and in Bathurst in 1967 and 1970.
1967: This district was renamed Bathurst. Formerly known as Gloucester, the Liberal incumbent from that district ran and was elected in 1967. Gloucester had been a Liberal stronghold from 1935-1963.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]