[an error occurred while processing this directive]


District Profiles

CandidatePartyVote CountVote ShareElected
Donald ArseneaultLIB551168.47%X
Ronald Joseph BarriaultPC208425.89%
Lyndsey GallantNDP4545.64%
September 20, 1:55:00 PM ADT42 of 42 polls reporting

Dalhousie - Restigouche East (2)


PC: Ronald Barriault
LIB: Donald Arsenault (incumbent)
NDP: Lyndsey Gallant

District Profile:
This district, in the northeast of the province, contains the part of Restigouche County contained in town of Dalhousie; villages of Eel River Crossing, Balmoral and Charlo, as well as all of parishes of Balmoral and Colburne, and part of parishes of Dalhousie and Durham. The Eel River First Nation is also in district. There is a 60/40 French/English split in mother tongue.

District Map:
District Map: Bathurst

From Elections New Brunswick:
External link opens in a new window02 Dalhousie - Restigouche East (818 kb - PDF)
( Acrobat Reader required - download free Acrobat Reader.)
District History:
New district in 1995.
Both Dalhousie and Restigouche East:
PC: 1999.

Dalhousie - Restigouche East:
LIB: 2003, 1995
LIB: 1978-1991

In the 2006 redistribution, Dalhousie - Restigouche East added the southern part of the community of Val D'Amour from the existing district of Restigouche West. It also added the areas of McLeods and Dundee from the electoral district Campbleton - Restigouche Centre. The district's total population is 14,109.

Political History:
2003: LIB DONALD ARSENAULT won the seat with 3,445 votes.
1999: PC DR. DENNIS FURLONG defeated LIB CAROLLE DE STE CROIX by 2,318 votes.

June 17, 1999: FURLONG appointed minister of health and community services; appointed minister of education, and minister responsible for culture and sport secretariat Oct 9/01.
1995: DE STE-CROIX defeated ND AURELE FERLATTE by 1,253 votes.
DALHOUSIE (new district in 1974):
1991: LIB ALLAN MAHER defeated FERLATTE by 877 votes.

Oct. 9, 1991: MAHER reappointed minister of finance and appointed chair of Board of Management.
1978-1987: MAHER won in 1978, 1982 and 1987.

Oct. 27, 1987: MAHER appointed minister of finance, and minister responsible for N.B. Liquor Commission; January to Oct. 1991: Acting minister of commerce and technology.
1974: PC JOHN POTTER defeated MAHER by 365 votes.
RESTIGOUCHE EAST (new district in 1974):
1991: LIB RAYBURN DOUCETTE defeated ND WALTER GAUTHIER by 1,782 votes.

Sept. 2, 1993: DOUCETTE appointed minister responsible for Regional Development Corp.
1987-1991: Oct. 27, 1987: DOUCETTE appointed minister of energy, and Chair of NB Electric Power Commission; Dec. 19, 1990: Appointed minister of commerce and technology.

Resigned Jan. 21, 1991, following patronage allegation while he was chair of NB Power.
1970-1987: LIB RAYBURN DOUCETTE, son of LIB RAYMOND DOUCETTE (elected in 1963 and 1967), first elected in Restigouche. Re-elected in 1974, 1978, 1982 and 1987.
1963-1967: LIB RAYMOND DOUCETTE elected in Restigouche in 1963 and 1967.
RESTIGOUCHE (before 1974):
1935-1968: 1935: 2 LIBs; 1939: 1 LIB, 1 CONS; 1944: 2 LIBs; 1948: 3 LIBs; 3 PCs: 1952, 1956; 3 LIBs: 1960-70 incl. (PC: 1968 byelection).

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
PartyElectedLeadingTotalVote Share
Last Update:September 19, 1:13:13 AM ADT

District Profiles

More New Brunswick Votes Headlines »

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
more »
[an error occurred while processing this directive]