CBC SPORTS BRINGS CANADIANS THE 2018 IAAF DIAMOND LEAGUE TRACK AND FIELD SEASON

Apr 30, 2018

2018 season marks the second in CBC Sports’ three-year deal for Canadian multiplatform broadcast rights

 

CBC Sports today announced its extensive coverage plans for the continent-crossing, summer-spanning 2018 IAAF DIAMOND LEAGUE series, the second season in CBC Sports’ three-year deal for the Canadian multiplatform broadcast rights. The 2018 season includes a total of 14 invitational one-day track and field meets taking place across Asia, Europe, Africa and North America over the course of four months, and features the biggest international stars in athletics. Beginning with the first event in Doha, Qatar, on May 4, CBC Sports will provide live-streaming coverage of every meet at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices, while television coverage will be featured as part of CBC Sports’ weekend staple ROAD TO THE OLYMPIC GAMES throughout the season.  Radio-Canada Sports will also offer live-streaming coverage of every DIAMOND LEAGUE meet at Radio-Canada.ca/sports.

Scott Russell and Olympian and World Championship sprinter Anson Henry will host CBC Sports’ DIAMOND LEAGUE coverage during ROAD TO THE OLYMPIC GAMES broadcasts, which will also be simultaneously live-streamed at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app. Canadians announced to date in competition include: Rio 2016 triple-medallist Andre De Grasse in the men’s 100m and 200m (Doha, May 4; Shanghai, May 12; and London, July 21-22); 2018 Commonwealth Games gold medallist in pole vault, Alysha Newman (Doha, May 4); Olympian Sage Watson in the 400m hurdles (Shanghai, May 12); 2018 Commonwealth Games double-silver medallist Mohammed Ahmed in the two-mile race (Eugene, May 26); and four-time Canadian champion and Canadian record-holder Matt Hughes in the men’s 3000m steeplechase (Eugene, May 26). 

At the first meet in Doha on May 4, De Grasse will compete in the highly anticipated men’s 200m event against reigning World Champion Ramil Guliyev of Turkey; 2017 Diamond League Champion Noah Lyles of the USA; World bronze medallist Jereem Richards of Trinidad and Tobago; and Omar McLeod of Jamaica, who is the Olympic Games and World Champion in the 110m hurdles. Canadian pole vaulter Newman will compete against the reigning Olympic Games, World, European and Diamond League Champion Katerina Stefanidi of Greece; Olympic Games and World silver medallist Sandi Morris of the USA; and Olympic Games bronze medallist and 2018 Commonwealth Games silver medallist Eliza McCartney of New Zealand.

Other notable international athletes competing on May 4 include: Qatar’s own Mutaz Barshim, a silver medallist in high jump at Rio 2016; 3000m World Champion Hellen Obiri of Kenya; Germany’s Rio 2016 and World Javelin Champions, Thomas Röhler and Johannes Vetter, respectively; two-time Olympic Games champion, three-time World Champion and six-time Diamond League Champion, American Christian Taylor, competing in the triple jump; and Rio 2016 triple sprint medallist Elaine Thompson of Jamaica and 200m World Champion Dafne Schippers of The Netherlands in the women’s 100m. Team Qatar’s Abderrahaman Samba, who won last year’s Doha Diamond League 400m hurdles, will once again compete in the event against Rio 2016 champion Kerron Clement of the USA. World-record holder and recently crowned 2018 World Indoor Champion Kendra Harrison will face off against her American teammate, and reigning Olympic Games champion and 2013 World Champion, Brianna Rollins-McNeal, in the women’s 100m hurdles.

Live streams of each IAAF DIAMOND LEAGUE meet will be available at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app*:

 

Doha, Qatar,                      Fri. May 4            12–2 p.m. ET (9–11 a.m. PT)

Shanghai, China                 Sat. May 12          7–9 a.m. ET (4–6 a.m. PT) 

Eugene, Oregon, USA        Sat. May 26          4–6 p.m. ET (1–3 p.m. PT)

Rome, Italy                         Thurs. May 31       2–4 p.m. ET (11 a.m. –1 p.m. PT)

Oslo, Norway                     Thurs. June 7        2–4 p.m. ET (11 a.m. –1 p.m. PT)

Stockholm, Sweden            Sun. June 10        10 a.m. –12 p.m. ET (7–9 a.m. PT)

Paris, France                      Sat. June 30          2–4 p.m. ET (11 a.m. –1 p.m. PT)

Lausanne, Switzerland       Thurs. July 5          2–4 p.m. ET (11 a.m. –1 p.m. PT)

Rabat, Morocco                  Fri. July 13            1–3 p.m. ET (10 a.m. –12 p.m. PT)

Monaco                               Fri. July 20            2–4 p.m. ET (11 a.m. –1 p.m. PT)

London, England                Sat. July 21          10 a.m. –12 p.m. ET (7–9 a.m. PT)

                                           Sun. July 22          9–11 a.m. ET (6–8 a.m. PT) 

Birmingham, England         Sat. Aug. 18          9–11 a.m. ET (6–8 a.m. PT) 

Zurich, Switzerland            Thurs. Aug. 30       2–4 p.m. ET (11 a.m. –1 p.m. PT)

Brussels, Belgium               Fri. Aug. 31          2–4 p.m. ET (11 a.m. –1 p.m. PT)

 

*Note: Times are subject to change

 

Broadcast coverage of the 2018 IAAF DIAMOND LEAGUE season will be available weekly on CBC Sports’ ROAD TO THE OLYMPIC GAMES*:

 

Doha, Qatar,                      Sat. May 5           4–6 p.m. ET (1–3 p.m. PT)

Shanghai, China                 Sat. May 12         3–4 p.m. ET (12–1 p.m. PT)

Eugene, Oregon, USA       Sat. May 26         4–6 p.m. ET (1–3 p.m. PT)

Rome, Italy                        Sat. June 2          4–6 p.m. ET (1–3 p.m. PT)

Oslo, Norway                     Sat. June 9          2–4 p.m. ET (11 a.m. –1 p.m. PT)

Stockholm, Sweden           Sun. June 10       2–3:30 p.m. (3–4:30 p.m. AT)

Paris, France                      Sat. June 30        4–6 p.m. ET (1–3 p.m. PT)

Lausanne, Switzerland       Sat. July 7           2–4 p.m. ET (11 a.m. –1 p.m. PT)

Rabat, Morocco                  Sat. July 14         2–3:30 p.m. ET (11 a.m. –12:30 p.m. PT)

London, England                Sat. July 21          2–3:30 p.m. ET (11 a.m. –12:30 p.m. PT)

                                           Sun. July 22         1–2:30 p.m. ET (10–11:30 a.m. PT)

Birmingham, England         Sat. Aug. 18         4–6 p.m. local

Zurich, Switzerland/

Brussels, Belgium              Sat. Sept. 1         3–6 p.m. local

 

*Note: Times are subject to change. ROAD TO THE OLYMPIC GAMES broadcasts will also be available as live-streams at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app

 

The IAAF DIAMOND LEAGUE, entering its ninth season, features the world’s top track and field athletes competing for a Diamond Trophy and a $1.6 million USD total cash prize. The series sees 1,200 athletes compete in 32 individual disciplines, divided equally between male and female competitions. Each discipline will be featured at seven of the 14 meets throughout the season, including the 12 qualifying and two final events. Athletes will compete to accumulate points towards their discipline’s season-long Diamond Race standings, with points being awarded to the top eight finishers at each meet. Prize money will also be awarded to the top eight finishers in each discipline at the qualifying events, with a total prize purse of $30,000 USD available per discipline at each Diamond League meet.

The top eight or 12 athletes in each discipline will be awarded a start at the final 2018 Diamond League meet in Zurich or Brussels. The winner of each discipline will become an IAAF Diamond League Champion, receive a Diamond Trophy and a $50,000 USD cash prize. Learn more about the rules, point system and prize money here.

 

-30-

 

About CBC Sports

CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada's Olympic Network through 2024 and Canada's Paralympic Network through 2020. The national public broadcaster is committed to showcasing Canadian and international athletes and sports across all platforms under the CBC Sports and Hockey Night in Canada brands, including on television, online at cbcsports.ca and via the CBC Sports app for iOS and Android devices. CBC Sports prides itself on telling the story of the high-performance athlete's journey every step of the way, ensuring Canadians always know the people who represent them before they see them atop the podium.

 

For further information, please contact:

Tanya Koivusalo, publicist, CBC

tanya.koivusalo@cbc.ca

416-205-8638 (office) 647-649-6067 (mobile)