Cross Country Checkup

About the Show

  • RADIO
  • ONLINE

Cross Country Checkup is Canada's only national open-line radio program, broadcast live across Canada every Sunday afternoon on CBC Radio One, on Sirius satellite radio channel 159, and around the world on the Internet.

Each week broadcaster and writer Rex Murphy presides over a lively discussion on an issue of national interest or importance, and invites listeners to call in with their opinions and thoughts.

Checkup is a Canadian tradition. We have been on the air most Sundays for 47 years. The program was first broadcast May 16, 1965, during the bitter debate over whether there should be a national publicly-funded health-care system (hence the somewhat medical name of the show!).


Press Releases


THIS LABOUR DAY, FALL BACK INTO IT WITH CBC RADIO ONE'S NEW SEASON OF GREAT PROGRAMMING

THIS LABOUR DAY, FALL BACK INTO IT WITH CBC RADIO ONE'S NEW SEASON OF GREAT PROGRAMMING

Two listener favourites celebrate anniversaries: Vinyl CafĂ© marks 20 years on the air this season, while As It Happens turns 45! Read More »

  • Program Name

    Cross Country Checkup

  • Program Type

    Radio Show

  • Appears On

    Radio One

  • Genre

    Radio

  • Schedule

    Sunday @ 1:00PM PT, 2:00PM MT, 3:00PM CT, 4:00PM ET, 5:00PM AT, 5:30PM NT

  • Website

    www.cbc.ca/checkup/

Bios


  • Rex Murphy

    Rex Murphy

    Host | Cross Country Checkup
    Correspondent | The National