Press Releases


CBC/RADIO-CANADA'S COVERAGE OF THE TORONTO 2015 PARAPAN AM GAMES BEGINS FRIDAY, AUG. 7 WITH THE OPENING CEREMONY

Daily TV and live streaming coverage from August 7-15 includes the Opening and Closing Ceremonies

The world's third-largest international multi-sport games continues on CBC/Radio-Canada with daily coverage of the TORONTO 2015 Parapan Am Games from August 7-15. English-language coverage will begin with the Opening Ceremony on Friday, Aug. 7 at 7 p.m. (8 p.m. AT, 8:30 p.m. NT) on CBC-TV, CBC News Network, and streaming live at cbc.ca/parapanam and on the CBC Sports App featuring Parapan Am Games coverage, presented by CIBC, for iOS and Android. CBC/Radio-Canada is the official broadcaster of this year's Parapan Am Games in Canada and will provide Canadians with more coverage than ever before. In total, CBC/Radio-Canada and its partners will offer more than 250 hours of coverage across TV and digital platforms. This year's event marks the first time the Parapan Am Games will be televised in English and French in Canada.

Scott Russell will host CBC-TV's daily coverage throughout the Parapan Am Games with co-host Chantal Petitclerc, one of the most decorated para-athletes of all time. Weekday coverage will consist of an afternoon broadcast, Parapan Am Afternoon, from 3 - 5pm (4:30 NT) as well as Parapan Am Prime at 8 p.m. (9:30 p.m. NT). Parapan Am Latenight at 11:30 p.m. (12 a.m. NT) will be a wrap-style show that will bring viewers the latest in sport and athlete updates from around the Games.  Russell and Petitclerc will be joined on the broadcast team by CBC's Brenda Irving and Canadian national sledge hockey team captain, Greg Westlake, as reporters.

Additional coverage on the weekends will include two programming blocks on Saturday, Aug. 8 at 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT) and 8 p.m. (9 p.m. AT, 9:30 p.m. NT); another show on Sunday, Aug. 9 at 5 p.m. (6 p.m. AT, 6:30 p.m. NT); two hours on Saturday, Aug. 15 at 11 a.m. ET (8 a.m. PT) and the Closing Ceremony at 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT). All TV broadcasts on CBC will have described video available courtesy of AMI-TV, which will also simulcast CBC's programming in open description.  Broadcast partner Sportsnet will add additional hours of coverage through encore Parapan Am broadcasts and by carrying the Closing Ceremony live on City on Saturday, Aug. 15 at 8 p.m. ET (5 p.m. PT).

French-language TV coverage on Radio-Canada will include a nightly hour-long broadcast with host Marc Durand recapping the best from each day of competition alongside Paralympic swimming champion and world record-holder, Philippe Gagnon. The Opening and Closing Ceremonies will be available online at ICI.Radio-Canada.ca. Fans can stay up-to-date with the latest news and results from the Parapan Am Games in French at ICI.Radio-Canada.ca.

Extensive streaming coverage of the TORONTO 2015 Parapan Am Games will be available at cbc.ca/parapanam and via the CBC Sports App, including more than 155 hours of programming over the course of the Games. Live streamed sports will include wheelchair rugby, wheelchair basketball, swimming, and athletics. The opening weekend will include live streaming video across three venue feeds from 4 p.m.-12 a.m. ET (1-9 p.m. PT) each day. During the week coverage will increase to four feeds from 3 p.m.-12 a.m. from Monday-Friday, with additional morning coverage on Friday, Aug. 14. Saturday, Aug. 15 will include streaming coverage of the men's Wheelchair Basketball bronze and gold medal games and the Closing Ceremony. Digital streams of CBC TV programs will include closed captioning. 

CBC will be active in social media using #CBCParapanAm through the @CBCSports accounts on Twitter, Instagram and Periscope, as well as the @CBCOlympics Twitter account and on Facebook at facebook.com/CBCSports and facebook.com/CBCOlympics.

CBC Radio will have listeners covered with updates each hour within The World This Weekend on August 8, 9, and 15, as well as updates within local afternoon radio programs and The World At Six across the country each weekday during the Parapan Am Games. In addition, CBC Radio has produced 13 Parapan Am Games-focused features that will air during the week leading into the Opening Ceremony.

-30-

About CBC/Radio-Canada
CBC/Radio-Canada is Canada's national public broadcaster and one of its largest cultural institutions. The Corporation is a leader in reaching Canadians on new platforms and delivers a comprehensive range of radio, television, internet, and satellite-based services. Deeply rooted in the regions, CBC/Radio-Canada is the only domestic broadcaster to offer diverse regional and cultural perspectives in English, French and eight Aboriginal languages. 

A space for us all is CBC/Radio-Canada's strategy to transform the public broadcaster, and ensure that it continues to fulfill its mandate for Canadians, now and for future generations. Through to 2020, the Corporation will increase its investment in prime-time television programming and continue to create radio programs of the highest quality, while promoting the development of digital and mobile platforms and content.

For more information including series synopses, press releases, hi-res images, video clips and bios, please visit the CBC Media Centre at cbc.ca/mediacentre. Follow CBC's publicity team on Twitter @CBC_Publicity.

For further information, please contact:
Simon Bassett, publicist, CBC
416-205-8533 (office) 416-988-1590 (mobile)

Broadcast schedule details:
[an error occurred while processing this directive]