Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Oscar Lathlin NDP 3,262 68.86% X
George Muswaggon PC 1,016 21.45%
James Houston LIB 459 9.69%
Updated: Nov. 30, 2007 10:50 CST 55 of 55 polls reporting

The Pas

Current MLA:

Oscar Lathlin (NDP)

Lathlin is the minister of aboriginal and northern affairs, and the minister charged with the administration of the Communities Economic Development Fund Act.


LIBLIB: James Houston
NDPNDP: Oscar Lathlin
PCPC: George Muswaggon

Riding Profile:

This riding has existed since the 1914 election and has been NDP since 1969. This is a central Manitoba riding. The western boundary is the Saskatchewan/Manitoba border; Lake Winnipeg forms part of the southern boundary. This riding includes Easterville and Norway House.

The population in 2001 was 19,220. The average family income was $45,069 with an unemployment rate of 19.5 per cent, the second-highest unemployment rate in the province in 2001. The leading industries were health and social services (15.3%) and educational services (13.6%).

Riding Map:
Instructions: Drag the map to look around or use the controllers to zoom in and out to get a closer look.
(Note to Internet Explorer and Firefox users: I.E. v.6+ and Firefox 1.5+ are required.)
Riding History:

2003 turnout: 40.46%

2003 NDP Oscar Lathlin defeated LIB Mark Sweeny by 2,268 votes.
1999 NDP Lathlin defeated PC Ron Evans by 215 votes.
1995 NDP Lathlin defeated PC Alfred McDonald by 1,115 votes.
1990 NDP Lathlin defeated PC McDonald by 143 votes.
1988 NDP Harry Harapiak defeated PC Bruce Unfried by 1,637 votes.
1986 NDP Harapiak defeated PC Ernest Polsom by 2,963 votes.
1981 NDP Harapiak defeated PC Percy Pielak by 2,993 votes.
1969 NDP Ron McBryde defeated, by 195 votes, PC John Carroll, who had held the riding since 1958. McBryde was re-elected in 1973 and 1977.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
NDP 36 0 36 48%
PC 19 0 19 37.89%
LIB 2 0 2 12.39%
GRN 0 0 0 1.34%
OTH 0 0 0 0.38%
  • Updated: Nov 30, 2007, 10:50 CST

Riding Profiles

More Manitoba Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »