Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Gord Mackintosh NDP 4,223 68.82% X
Tim D. Hooper PC 1,018 16.59%
Selina Bieber LIB 604 9.84%
Dawn Carey GRN 291 4.74%
Updated: Nov. 30, 2007 10:50 CST 41 of 41 polls reporting

St. Johns

Current MLA:

Current MLA: Gord Mackintosh (NDP)

Gord Macintosh is the minister of family services and housing and the minister responsible for persons with disabilities.


LIBLIB: Selina Bieber
NDPNDP: Gord Mackintosh
PCPC: Tim D. Hooper
GREGRE: Dawn Carey

Riding Profile:

This riding has existed since the 1958 election. It was CCF until 1962, and has been NDP since then. It is a mixed income riding in northern Winnipeg that runs between Kingsbury (west of Main) and Armstrong (east of Main) to the north and Inkster (west of McKenzie) and Mountain Avenue (east of McKenzie) to the south, and between the Assiniboine River to the east and McKenzie (south of Inkster/Hwy 25) and the CP Line (north of Inkster) to the west.

The population in 2001 was 19,730. The average family income was $48,277, with an unemployment rate of 7.4 per cent. The major industry was manufacturing (16%) followed by health and social services (12.2%).

Riding Map:
Instructions: Drag the map to look around or use the controllers to zoom in and out to get a closer look.
(Note to Internet Explorer and Firefox users: I.E. v.6+ and Firefox 1.5+ are required.)
Riding History:

2003 turnout: 47.72%

2003 NDP Gord Macintosh defeated LIB Ed Kolodziej by 3,479 votes.
1999 NDP Macintosh defeated PC Ray Larkin by 4,131 votes.
1995 NDP Macintosh defeated NIB Bron Gorski by 2,903 votes.
1993 In a byelection, NDP Mackintosh defeated LIB Naty Yankech by 2,354 votes.
1990 NDP Judy Wasylycia-Leis defeated LIB Mark Minenko, incumbent from Seven Oaks, by 1,978 votes. Wasylycia-Leis resigned in 1993 to run federally.
1988 NDP Wasylycia-Leis defeated LIB Ruth Oberman by 612 votes.
1986 NDP Wasylycia-Leis defeated PC John Batula by 1,804 votes.
1981 NDP Rev. Donald Malinowski, who had been elected in Point Douglas in 1969, 1973 and1977, defeated PC Don Cilinsky by 2,219 votes.
1977, 1973, 1969, 1966, 1962 NDP Saul Cherniak elected.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
NDP 36 0 36 48%
PC 19 0 19 37.89%
LIB 2 0 2 12.39%
GRN 0 0 0 1.34%
OTH 0 0 0 0.38%
  • Updated: Nov 30, 2007, 10:50 CST

Riding Profiles

More Manitoba Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »