Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Erna Braun NDP 4,836 60.71% X
Cathy Cox PC 2,608 32.74%
Isaiah Oyeleru LIB 522 6.55%
Updated: Nov. 30, 2007 10:50 CST 46 of 46 polls reporting


Current MLA:

Harry Schellenberg (NDP)


LIBLIB: Isaiah Oyeleru
NDPNDP: Erna Braun
PCPC: Cathy Cox

Riding Profile:

The riding has existed since 1969. It runs from the Red River in the west to Molson Street in the east, and from Springfield/Rothesay/Douglas in the north to Oakland/Roch/Dunbeath/Watt/Dunrobin/Antrim in the south. It is a fairly affluent, mostly middle-income riding.

The population in 2001 was 19,260. The average family income was $58,383, with an unemployment rate of 5.1 per cent. The main industry was manufacturing (16.7%) followed by retail (11.8%).

Riding Map:
Instructions: Drag the map to look around or use the controllers to zoom in and out to get a closer look.
(Note to Internet Explorer and Firefox users: I.E. v.6+ and Firefox 1.5+ are required.)
Riding History:

2003 turnout: 58.22%

2003 NDP Harry Schellenberg defeated PC Virginia Larrson by 2,761 votes.
1999 NDP Schellenberg defeated PC Vic Toews by 294 votes.
1995 PC Toews defeated NDP Schellenberg by 117 votes.
1993 In a byelection, NDP Schellenberg defeated PC Ed Martens by 831 votes.
1990 PC Harold Neufeld defeated NDP Maxine Hamilton by 1,168 votes. Neufeld resigned in 1993.
1988 PC Neufeld defeated NDP Vic Schroeder by 526 votes.
1986 NDP Schroeder defeated PC Neufeld by 527 votes.
1981 NDP Schroeder defeated PC Ian Sutherland by 1,483 votes.
1979 In a byelection, NDP Schroeder defeated PC Harold Piercy by 230 votes.
1977, 1973 NDP Premier Ed Schreyer was re-elected. He resigned in 1979.
1969 NDP Schreyer defeated PC David Pekary by 2,343 votes. Schreyer had been elected Manitoba NDP leader in 1969 and was sworn in as Premier.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
NDP 36 0 36 48%
PC 19 0 19 37.89%
LIB 2 0 2 12.39%
GRN 0 0 0 1.34%
OTH 0 0 0 0.38%
  • Updated: Nov 30, 2007, 10:50 CST

Riding Profiles

More Manitoba Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »