Riding Profiles

Candidate Party Vote Count Vote Share Elected
Dave Chomiak NDP 5,012 61.63% X
Brent Olynyk PC 2,360 29.02%
Wade Parke LIB 556 6.84%
Nathan Zahn GRN 204 2.51%
Updated: Nov. 30, 2007 10:50 CST 50 of 50 polls reporting


Current MLA:

Dave Chomiak (NDP)

Chomiak is the minister of justice, the attorney general and the government house leader. He is also the minister responsible for constitutional affairs, the minister charged with the administration of the Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation Act and the minister charged with the administration of the Gaming Control Act.


LIBLIB: Wade Parke
NDPNDP: Dave Chomiak
PCPC: Brent Olynyk
GREGRE: Nathan Zahn

Riding Profile:

The riding was re-established prior to the 1958 election. (There had been a Kildonan riding twice in the 1800s.) The riding is in northeast Winnipeg and runs between the Red River in the east and McPhillips St. in the west, and from the city limits in the north to Inkster/CPR Line/Kingsbury in the south.

The population in 2001 was 19,945. The average family income was $62,077, with an unemployment rate of 4.3 per cent. The main industries were health and social services (14.6%) and manufacturing (14.5%).

Riding Map:
Instructions: Drag the map to look around or use the controllers to zoom in and out to get a closer look.
(Note to Internet Explorer and Firefox users: I.E. v.6+ and Firefox 1.5+ are required.)
Riding History:

2003 turnout: 53.31%

2003 NDP Dave Chomiak defeated PC Garreth McDonald by 4,023 votes.
1999 NDP Chomiak defeated PC Shannon Martin by 3,559 votes.
1995 NDP Chomiak defeated PC Robert Praznik by 2,488 votes.
1990 NDP Chomiak defeated PC David Langtry by 210 votes.
1988 LIB Gulzar Cheema defeated PC John Baluta by 585 votes. NDP Marty Dolin was third.
1986 NDP Dolin again defeated PC Rayburn by 1,989 votes.
1985 In a byelection, NDP Dolin (previous MLA Mary-Beth Dolin�s husband) defeated PC Bev Rayburn by 1,084 votes.
1981 NDP Mary-Beth Dolin defeated PC Ken Galanchuk by 2,316 votes. Mary-Beth Dolin died in April 1985.

(The CBC does not endorse and is not responsible for the content of external sites. External links will open in a new window.External link opens in a new window)

Go to the Top

Overall Election Results
Party Elected Leading Total Vote Share
NDP 36 0 36 48%
PC 19 0 19 37.89%
LIB 2 0 2 12.39%
GRN 0 0 0 1.34%
OTH 0 0 0 0.38%
  • Updated: Nov 30, 2007, 10:50 CST

Riding Profiles

More Manitoba Votes Headlines »

Sorry - we can't find that page

Sorry, we can't find the page you requested.

  1. Please check the URL in the address bar, or ...
  2. Use the navigation links at left to explore our site, or ...
  3. Enter a term in the Quick Search box at top, or ...
  4. Visit our site map page

In a few moments, you will be taken to our site map page, which will help you find what you looking for.

more »