HomeRadioTelevisionLocal ContactSearchHelp
New Brunswick Votes 2003


En fran´┐Żais:

Radio Canada

  Main > Riding Profiles >
Riding Profiles
Candidate Party Vote Count Pop. Vote X
Gord Mackintosh New Democrats 4199 72.38% X
Ed Kolodziej Liberal 741 12.77%
E. Ray Garnett Prog. Conservative 610 10.52%
Alon Weinberg Green Party of MB 217 3.74%
Chris Buors Libertarian Party 34 0.59%
 Last Update Mon Jun 16 11:41:47 EDT 2003 43 of 43 polls reporting


Current MLA: Gord Mackintosh (NDP)


Liberal: Ed Kolodziej
NDP: Gord Mackintosh
Green Party: Alon Weinberg
PC: E. Ray Garnett
Libertarian: Chris Buors

Riding Profile:

This riding has existed since the 1958 election. It was CCF until 1962, and has been NDP since then. This is a mixed income riding in northern Winnipeg which runs between Kingsbury (west of Main) and Armstrong (east of Main) in the north and Inkster (west of McKenzie) and Mountain Ave (east of McKenzie) in the south between the Assiniboine River in the east and McKenzie (south of Inkster/ Hwy 25) and the CP line (north of Inkster) in the west.

The population in 1996 was 20,023. In 1999, almost 17 per cent of the population was over the age of 65. It was also an ethnically-mixed riding. Ten per cent cited Ukrainian as their ethnic origin, Polish (6%) and Jewish (5%). There was a 12 per cent Aboriginal population.

The average family income in 1999 was $40,443 with an unemployment rate of 10.90 per cent. There was a high incidence of low income (over 35%.)

In 1999, manufacturing was the main industry (18%) followed by services (15%).

Political History:

  • ND Saul Cherniak won in 1962, 1966, 1969, 1973, 1977.
    1981: ND Rev. Donald Malinowski, who had been elected in Point Douglas in 1969, 1973, 1977 ran in this riding and defeated PC Don Cilinsky by 2,219 votes.

  • 1986: ND Judy Wasylycia-Leis defeated PC John Baluta by 1,804 votes.

  • 1988: ND Wasylycia-Leis defeated LIB Ruth Oberman by 612 votes.

  • 1990: ND Wasylycia-Leis defeated LIB Mark Minenko, incumbent from Seven Oaks, by 1,978 votes. Wasylycia-Leis resigned in 1993 to run federally.

  • 1993: In a by-election, ND Gord Mackintosh defeated LIB Naty Yankech by 2,354 votes.

  • 1995: ND Mackintosh defeated LIB Bron Gorski by 2,903 votes.

  • 1999: ND Mackintosh defeated Ray Larkin by 4,131 votes.

    Gord Mackintosh is the Minister of Justice, the Attorney General and the Government House Leader. He is also the Minister Responsible for the Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation and the Minister Responsible for Constitutional Affairs.

    1999 Turnout: 65.1%



    Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
    Copyright © CBC 2003