HomeRadioTelevisionLocal ContactSearchHelp
New Brunswick Votes 2003


En fran´┐Żais:

Radio Canada

  Main > Riding Profiles >
Riding Profiles
Candidate Party Vote Count Pop. Vote X
David Faurschou Prog. Conservative 3520 49.85% X
Bob Kriski New Democrats 3014 42.69%
Mike Lefebvre Liberal 527 7.46%
 Last Update Mon Jun 16 11:41:47 EDT 2003 47 of 47 polls reporting


Current MLA: David Faurschou (PC)


Liberal: Michael Lefebvre
NDP: Bob Kriski
PC: David Faurschou

Riding Profile:

This riding has existed since the 1870 election. It has been PC since 1977. The riding is in southern Manitoba. Lake Manitoba is the northern border. The Assiniboine River runs through the southern part of the riding. Portage La Prairie itself is in the southern part of riding. Other communities in this riding include: Oakville, Newton and St Marks.

The 1996 population was 18,785. In 1999, six per cent of the population listed German is their ethnic origin. The Aboriginal population was 13 per cent.

The average family income in 1999 was $45,302 with an unemployment rate of 7.00 per cent.

Health and social services (18%) was the major industry in 1999 followed by agriculture (13%).

Political History:

  • 1962, 1966, 1969, 1973: LIB Gordon Johnston was elected.

  • 1977: PC Lloyd Hyde defeated ND Peter Swidnicki by 1,485 votes.

  • 1981: PC Hyde defeated ND Audrey Tufford by 1,207 votes.

  • 1986: PC Ed Connery defeated ND Bill Zettler by 2,236 votes.

  • 1988: PC Connery defeated LIB Darlene Hamm by 1,208 votes.

  • 1999: PC David Faurschou defeated ND Connie Gretsinger by 707 votes.

    1999 Turnout: 59.76%



    Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright | Other Policies
    Copyright © CBC 2003