CCMAs Calgary Stampede Canada Day Canadian Screen Awards Giller Prize Hockey Night Olympics Season Launch TIFF

Canada Writes Announces Shortlist


Five English-language finalists have been revealed for the CBC Creative Nonfiction prize

The following budding writers were chosen from over 2,700 entries submitted across Canada:

-Terri Favro of Toronto for Icarus
-Matthew Hooton of Victoria for This Tongue
-Jenny Manzer of Victoria for The Boy with the Galloping Heart
-Linda Rosenbaum of Toronto for Wolf Howling at Moon
-Mohan Srivastava of Toronto for The Gods of Scrabble

As you can see from the list, Toronto and Victoria are hotbeds of nonfiction talent this year! 

The award is handed out for the best original, unpublished short story, which includes memoir, biography, humour writing, essay, travel writing, and feature articles. 

First prize includes $6,000 cash, a writing residency at The Banff Centre, and publication in Air Canada's enRoute magazine. The winner will be announced on July 22. 
This year's jury includes authors Ross King, JJ Lee and Jan Wong

Head over to the Canada Writes website to read each of the shortlisted stories.  

You can also vote for your favourite author online here. It's your chance to boost their bragging rights and win a Canada Writes journal. Voting closes at 9 am (ET) on July 15!

Canada Reads: Turf Wars Books and Panelists Unveiled
VIDEO: Gerry Dee on His Book - Teaching: It's Harder Than it Looks
VIDEO: How to Judge a Book with Lady Black and Seamus O'Regan
VIDEO: Jian Ghomeshi's 1982 Book Launch Party



[an error occurred while processing this directive]