Party Candidate Votes Status
107/109 polls Updated: Apr. 8, 2014 12:47 AM EDT
LIB Jean Boucher 4,444 Elected
PQ Luc Ferland 3,430
CAQ Michael Donald Cameron 1,660
QS André Richer 467
ON Zoé Allen-Mercier 220
PN Matthew Guillemette 133

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Quebec. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

Ungava is the epically large, sparsely populated riding covering the vast expanse of Northern Quebec. The district is the second-smallest in the province by population, but the biggest, by far, in area. The riding contains the communities of Chibougamau, Lebel-sur-Quévillon, Baie-James, Chapais and Matagami, as well as many Cree villages, Nordic villages, Oujé-Bougoumou, reserved Cree and Inuit lands and unorganized territories.

The boundaries changed somewhat in 2011, losing land along the Labrador border to the neighbouring electoral district of Duplessis.

Political history

The seat has gone to the PQ since its creation for the 1981 election. Michel Létourneau won here three times in a row from 1994 to 2003, and served as minister for native affairs from 2002-03.

2012 provincial election results:

Party Candidate Votes
PQ Luc Ferland 4,854
LIB Gérald Lemoyne 3,701
CAQ Stéphane Robichaud 1,176
QS Sylvain Couture 655
ON Dominic Hamelin-Johnston 298


Prior results:



Parti Québécois's Michel Létourneau defeated Liberal Victor Murray by 1,905 votes.


PQ's Létourneau defeated Liberal Claude Éric Gagné by 965 votes. Appointed to cabinet in 2002.


PQ's Létourneau defeated Liberal Donald Don Bubar by 965 votes.


PQ's Luc Ferland defeated Liberal Aline Sauvageau by 978 votes.


PQ's Luc Ferland defeated Liberal Pierre Gaudreault by 1,104 votes. 

1995 sovereignty referendum: Yes: 46.9%; No: 53.1%

2014 Candidates

Québec Solidaire André Richer
Parti Québécois Luc Ferland
Liberal Jean Boucher
Coalition Avenir Québec    Michael Cameron