Party Candidate Votes Status
174/174 polls Updated: Apr. 8, 2014 12:47 AM EDT
LIB Luc Fortin 12,375 Elected
PQ Serge Cardin 10,495
CAQ Philippe Girard 5,672
QS Hélène Pigot 4,393
GRN Jeremy Andrews 328
ON Jean-Simon Campbell 321
PC François Drogue 180
BP Jossy Roy 130
NA Hubert Richard 48

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Quebec. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

The Sherbrooke riding is in the heart of the main city in Quebec’s Eastern Townships, including Shebrooke's districts of Jacques-Cartier and Mont-Bellevue.
Former Liberal leader Jean Charest held the seat from the time he entered provincial politics in 1998 until the time his party fell into opposition in 2012.

Not only did the Liberals lose their governing majority in 2012, Charest’s home riding constituents ousted him in favour of the PQ's Serge Cardin.

The riding was created in 1829.

Political history

2012 provincial election results:

Party Candidate Votes
PQ Serge Cardin 15,585
LIB Jean Charest 12,714
CAQ Philippe Girard 4,343
QS Christian Bibeau 2,561
ON Évelyne Beaudin 1,063
GRN Suzanne Richer 406
PI Christian Clavet 69


Prior results:


Liberal André J. Hamel defeated PQ's Jacques Blanchette by 3,314 votes. 


PQ's Marie Malavoy defeated Liberal Gilles Lapointe by 1,391.


Liberal Jean Charest defeated PQ's Marie Malavoy by 907 votes.


Liberal Jean Charest defeated PQ's Marie Malavoy by 2,597 votes.

2007 Liberal Jean Charest defeated PQ's Claude Forgues by 1,332 votes.
2008 Liberal Jean Charest defeated PQ's Laurent-Paul Maheux by 2,314 votes. 

1995 sovereignty referendum: Yes: 53.3%; No: 46.7%

2014 Candidates

Québec Solidaire Hélène Pigot    
Parti Québécois Serge Cardin
Liberal Luc Fortin
Coalition Avenir Québec    Philippe Girard