Party Candidate Votes Status
219/219 polls Updated: Apr. 8, 2014 12:47 AM EDT
PQ Pierre Karl Péladeau 13,651 Elected
CAQ Patrice Charbonneau 11,677
LIB Armand Dubois 7,399
QS Vincent Lemay-Thivierge 3,989
ON Mathieu Trottier-Kavanagh 199
PC Bruno Morin 152

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Quebec. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

Saint-Jérôme is in the lower Laurentians, on the southern edge of Montreal cottage country. It was known as the riding of Prévost before the 2011 boundary revisions, and consists of the bottom two-thirds, roughly, of that former electoral district. The riding is co-extensive with the municipality of Saint-Jérôme.

Political history

The predecessor riding of Prévost has flitted between the major Quebec parties, but has mostly supported the Parti Québécois since 1994. It was former PQ industry minister Daniel Paille's seat. In 2012, one of the Coalition avenir Québec's star candidates, former Montreal police chief and head of the province's anti-collusion squad Jacques Duchesneau, defeated the PQ candidate. In February 2014, Duchesneau annouced he was finished with politics and would not be running in the next election. Sensing the opportunity to seize back the seat, the PQ announced in early March that media mogul Pierre Karl Péladeau would be its candidate in the riding.

2012 provincial election results:

Party Candidate Votes
CAQ Jacques Duchesneau 16,179
PQ Gilles Robert 15,282
LIB Marc Bustamante 5,087
QS Vincent Lemay-Thivierge 2,903
ON Julien Benca 532
GRN Olivier Adam 506


Prior results


PQ's Daniel Paille defeated Liberal Paul-André Forget by 4,110 votes. Appointed to cabinet. Resigns in 1996.

April 1997 byelection

PQ's Lucie Papineau defeated Liberal Normand Plouffe by 239 votes.


PQ's Papineau defeated Liberal Jocelyne Cherry by 8,409 votes. Appointed to cabinet.


PQ's Papineau defeated Liberal Marie-Josée Gouin by 4,338 votes.


ADQ's Martin Camirand defeated PQ incumbent Papineau by 808 votes.

2008 PQ's Gilles Robert defeated Liberal Jacques Gariépy y 5,224 votes. 

1995 sovereignty referendum: Yes: 62.9%; No: 37.1%


Liberal Armand Dubois        
Coalition Avenir Québec    Patrice Charbonneau
Québec Solidaire Vincent Lemay-Thivierge
Parti Québécois Pierre Karl Péladeau