Party Candidate Votes Status
228/230 polls Updated: Apr. 8, 2014 12:47 AM EDT
LIB Alexandre Iracà 17,934 Elected
PQ Jean-François Primeau 8,763
CAQ René Langelier 5,769
QS Marc Sarazin 2,313
PN Christine Gagné 491
ON Jonathan Beauchamp 292

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Quebec. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

The Outaouais region riding stretches from Buckingham, in the east end of the amalgamated city of Gatineau, to just beyond Montebello and into the cottage-and-lake hinterland north of the Ottawa River. The riding first existed for the 1923 election. It lost the municipality of Val-des-Monts to the riding of Gatineau in the 2011 shuffling of districts, but picked up a piece of central Gatineau.

Political history

The Liberals have had the seat locked up since 1981. Before that, it belonged for a term to the Parti Québécois's Jean Alfred, the first black person to be elected to the Quebec legislature. Since 1989, Normand MacMillan has held the seat, but he announced in July 2012 that we wouldn't seek re-election and fuelled speculation of a looming election. Alexandre Iraca barely held on to the riding for the Liberals in the 2012 general election, defeating the PQ's Jean-François Primeau by only 227 votes. 

2012 provincial election results:

Party Candidate Votes
LIB Alexandre Iraca 12,996
PQ Jean-François Primeau 12,769
CAQ Chantal Dubé 8,218
QS Katia Gagnon 2,013
ON Jonathan Beauchamp 574
PN Christine Gagné 446
IND Mario Parent 246
ML Alexandre Deschênes 115


Prior results:


Liberal NormanMacMillan defeated PQ's Paul André David by 3,381 votes.


Liberal MacMillan defeated PQ's Benoit Campeau by 4,848 votes.


Liberal MacMillan defeated PQ's Gilles Hébert by 9,658 votes.


Liberal MacMillan defeated PQ's Gilles Hébert by 4,206 votes.


Liberal MacMillan defeated PQ's Gilles Hébert by 5,112 votes.

1995 sovereignty referendum: Yes: 36.5%; No: 63.5%


Coalition Avenir Québec    René Langelier         
Québec Solidaire Marc Sarazin
Liberal Alexandre Iracà
Parti Québécois Jean-François Primeau