Party Candidate Votes Status
183/183 polls Updated: Apr. 8, 2014 12:47 AM EDT
LIB Saul Polo 16,918 Elected
PQ Léo Bureau-Blouin 11,893
CAQ Vincent Bolduc 6,560
QS Nicolas Chatel-Launay 2,246
GRN Léo McKenna 520
ON David Voyer 188

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Quebec. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

The riding is in the south-central part of Laval, across the Rivières-des-Prairies from Montreal Island. The seat was created in 1980 and barely changed in the 2011 boundary revisions.

Political history

This was former premier Bernard Landry's riding from 1981 to 1985 while he was a cabinet minister in René Lévesque's government. After that it went Liberal, but the PQ's Serge Ménard won it back in 1993 and held on until 2003, serving as public security minister and justice minister. In 2012, 20-year-old Léo Bureau-Blouin, a star of the student movement who played a key role in the 2012 protests and negotiations with the Liberal government, became the youngest MNA ever elected in Quebec after winning Laval-des-Rapides.  Bureau-Blouin brought the riding back to the PQ after nearly a decade in Liberal hands.

2012 provincial election results:

Party Candidate Votes
PQ Léo Bureau-Blouin 15,817
LIB Alain Paquet 13,703
CAQ Maud Cohen 9,076
QS Sylvie Des Rochers 1,725
ON Lawrence Côté-Collins 671
GRN Carl Desmarais 554
CC Monique Chartrand 248


Prior results:


Parti Québécois's Bernard Landry wins. Appointed to cabinet.


Liberal Guy Bélanger defeated PQ's Landry.


Liberal Bélanger defeated PQ's François Shanks.

December 1993 byelection

PQ's Serge Ménard defeated Liberal Raymond Monette.


PQ's Ménard again defeated Monette. Appointed to cabinet.


PQ's Ménard defeated Liberal Robert Lefebvre.


Liberal Alain Paquet defeated PQ's Ménard by 1,981 votes.


Liberal Paquet defeated Parti Québécois's Marc Demers by 1,494 votes.

2008 Liberal Alain Paquet defeated PQ's Marc Demers by 1,365.

1995 sovereignty referendum: Yes: 50.9%; No: 49.1%

2014 Candidates

Parti Québécois Léo Bureau-Blouin
Coalition Avenir Québec    Vincent Bolduc
Québec Solidaire Nicolas Chatel-Launay
Liberal Saul Polo