Party Candidate Votes Status
163/163 polls Updated: Apr. 8, 2014 12:47 AM EDT
CAQ François Legault 18,719 Elected
PQ Pierre Paquette 11,541
LIB Jean-Marc Bergevin 5,057
QS Sylvain Fournier 2,198
ON Gabriel Gauthier 226
PC Charles-Étienne Raynault 169

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Quebec. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This riding is in Quebec's Lanaudière region, on the north shore of the St. Lawrence River north of Montreal Island. Although it has kept the name L'Assomption, it is a relatively new riding as only 17 per cent of its previous territory remains following the 2011 boundary revisions.

Political history

L'Assomption has bounced back and forth between Quebec's major political parties. It was Jacques Parizeau's riding while he served as René Lévesque's finance minister in the 1970s and early 80s, and again from 1989 to 1996, including his term as premier. Former PQ minister turned leader of the Coalition Avenir Québec, François Legault, ran a tight race in the largely new riding in 2012. He pulled out a victory on election day, but the PQ challenger wasn't far behind. 

2012 provincial election results:

Party Candidate Votes
CAQ François Legault 17,266
PQ Lizabel Nitoi 16,188
LIB Lise Hébert 4,694
QS Sylvain Fournier 1,475
ON Evelyne Marcil 667
GRN Christine Lebel 581


Prior results (different territory):


Parti Québécois's Jacques Parizeau defeated Liberal incumbent Jean-Guy Gervais.


PQ's Parizeau defeated Liberal Luc Archambault. Becomes premier. Resigned on Jan. 29, 1996.

June 1996 byelection

PQ's Jean-Claude St-André defeated Liberal Fernand Prud'homme.


PQ's St-André defeated Liberal Michel Tremblay by 10,745 votes.


PQ's St-André defeated Liberal Sylvie Thouain.


Action Démocratique du Québec's Éric Laporte defeated PQ's St-André by 2,223 votes.

1995 sovereignty referendum: Yes: 63.7%; No: 36.3%

2014 Candidates

Québec Solidaire Sylvain Fournier            
Liberal Jean-Marc Bergevin
Coalition Avenir Québec    François Legault
Parti Québécois Pierre Paquette