Party Candidate Votes Status
180/180 polls Updated: Apr. 8, 2014 12:47 AM EDT
LIB François Blais 16,934 Elected
CAQ Denise Trudel 13,053
PQ Dominique Payette 7,215
QS Marie Céline Domingue 1,936
PC Milan Jovanovic 450
PN Sylvain Fiset 315
ON Guillaume Cyr 257
PUN Daniel Lachance 52
ML Normand Fournier 40

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Quebec. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

The riding comprises the eastern part of Quebec City. It was first contested in the1973 election, and underwent negligible changes in the 2011 riding revisions.

Political history

The riding has tended to vote for the trend of the times: It sided with René Lévesque's Parti Québécois in the 1976 and 1981 elections, then placed its allegiance with the Liberals during the Robert Bourassa years, then flipped back to the PQ for 1994 and 1998. In 2007, Charlesbourg residents voted in an Action Démocratique du Québec MNA while the party was at the height of its popularity, helping it attain Official Opposition status in the provincial assembly.

A series of cabinet ministers have held this seat. The PQ's Denis de Belleval won it in the 1970s while serving as transport minister and minister of public service. Liberal Marc-Yvan Côté had his base here while he was transport minister, health minister, and minister for electoral reform in Bourassa's second string of governments. And the constituency belonged to the PQ's Jean Rochon in the mid-90s and early 2000s while he served as health minister, labour minister, and minister for science and research.

2012 provincial election results:



Total votes



Denise Trudel




Michel Pigeon




Christophe Fortier Guay




Marie Céline Domingue



ON Guillaume Cyr 780 1.88
PN Jérôme Paquin 335 0.81
IND Alain Pérusse 232 0.56
PUN Daniel Lachance 112 0.27
EA Yves Marier 103 0.25
ML Pierre Chénier 53 0.13


More results:

  • 2008: Liberal Michel Pigeon defeats ADQ's Catherine Morissette by 4,382 votes. 
  • 2007: ADQ's Catherine Morissette defeats Liberal Éric Mercier by 6,364 votes.
  • 2003: Liberal Éric Mercier beats ADQ's Jonatan Julien by 6,233 votes.
  • 1994 and 1998: PQ cabinet minister Jean Rochon wins seat.

1995 sovereignty referendum: Yes: 53.2%; No: 46.8%

2014 Candidates

Québec solidaire Marie Céline Domingue                  
Liberal François Blais
Coalition avenir Québec    Denise Trudel
Parti québécois Dominique Payette