Party Candidate Votes Status
166/166 polls Updated: Apr. 8, 2014 12:47 AM EDT
LIB Pierre Michel Auger 11,605 Elected
CAQ Andrew D'Amours 10,569
PQ Noëlla Champagne 10,481
QS Lucie Favreau 1,848
ON Nicolas Lavigne-Lefebvre 222

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Quebec. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

Champlain is a riding in the southeast corner of Quebec's Mauricie region. It is located along the north shore of the St. Lawrence River, just east of the city of Trois-Rivières. The riding comprises the communities of Batiscan, Champlain, Sainte-Anne-de-la-Pérade, Sainte-Geneviève-de-Batiscan, Saint-Luc-de-Vincennes, Saint-Maurice, Saint-Narcisse, Saint-Prosper and Saint-Stanislas.

The riding first existed in 1830. It didn't change in the district redistributions of 1992, 2001 or 2011.

Political history

The Parti Québécois captured Champlain in six of the last nine general elections. It went Liberal in 1985 and 1989, and voted for the Action Démocratique du Québec in 2007. In a psephological rarity, the 2003 election resulted in a tie. The subsequent revote was won by PQ candidate Noëlla Champagne.

2012 provincial election results:



Total votes



Noëlla Champagne




Pierre Jackson




Marc-Antoine Trudel




Yves Sansregret



ON Émilie Joly 1,084 2.92
IND Eric L'Abbée 379 1.02
EA Jessy Trottier 113 0.30


More results:

  • 2008: Parti  Québécois's Noëlla Champagne defeats Liberal Pierre Michel Auger by 2,024 votes. 
  • 2007: ADQ's Auger defeats PQ's Champagne by 5,001 votes.
  • 2003 revote: PQ's Champagne defeats Liberal Pierre Brouillette by 642 votes.
  • 2003: PQ's Champagne ties Liberal Brouillette.
  • 1998: PQ's Yves Beaumier defeats Liberal Alain Croteau by 4,264 votes.
  • 1994: PQ's Beaumier bests Liberal Brouillette by 3,986 votes.
  • 1985 and 1989: Liberal Brouillette wins.

1995 sovereignty referendum: Yes: 60.6%; No: 39.4%

2014 Candidates

Québec solidaire Lucie Favreau           
Liberal Pierre-Michel Auger
Coalition avenir Québec      Andrew D'Amours
Parti québécois Noëlla Champagne