Party Candidate Votes Status
241/241 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
NDP Cindy Forster 21,281 Elected
PC Frank Campion 12,947
LIB Benoit Mercier 8,997
GRN Donna Cridland 1,874
LTN Andrea J. Murik 450

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This southern riding in the Niagara region contains the cities of Port Colborne, Thorold, Wainfleet and Welland, and stretches north from the shore of Lake Erie. It also includes part of the city of St. Catharines south of St. Paul Street West, St. Paul Crescent, Twelve Mile Creek and Glendale Avenue.

The riding of Welland was re-established in 2007 from 75 per cent of Niagara Centre, 21 per cent of Erie-Lincoln, two per cent of Niagara Falls and 0.5 per cent of St. Catharines.

Population: 112,727 (2011 census; a decrease of 0.1% since 2006)

Political history

New Democrat Cindy Forster won the riding in 2011, beating Progressive Conservative Domenic Ursini by 5,479 votes.

Welland belonged to the NDP since Peter Kormos was first elected in 1990. Kormos held onto the riding, easily beating Liberal John Mastroianni by 14,330 votes, in 2007.

Kormos did not seek re-election in 2011 due to health issues. He died on March 30, 2013.

After the redistribution, Kormos also won the new riding of Niagara Centre in 1999 and, by more than 10,000 votes, in 2003.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


NDP Cindy Forster 19,391 44.56
PC Domenic Ursini 13,975 32.11
LIB Benoit Mercier 8,638 19.85
GRN Donna Cridland 1,016 2.33
LTN Donna-Lynne Hamilton 498 1.14



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Frank Campion
Liberal   Benoit Mercier
NDP   Cindy Forster
Green   Donna Cridland
Libertarian    Andrea J. Murik