Party Candidate Votes Status
297/297 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Han Dong 26,934 Elected
NDP Rosario Marchese 17,759
PC Roberta Scott 8,094
GRN Tim Grant 4,111
LTN Andrew Echevarria 729
VEP Paul Figueiras 308
PSN Dan King 265

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This downtown Toronto riding contains some of city's most famous landmarks, such as the CN Tower, Rogers Centre (formerly known as the SkyDome), the Canadian National Exhibition (CNE) grounds, the Art Gallery of Ontario, Chinatown, Little Italy and Kensington Market.

The riding extends from the CP Rail line just beyond Dupont Street in the north to the Toronto Harbour and Islands in the south. In the west, it begins at Dufferin Street, Dovercourt Road and Ossington Avenue, and is bounded on the east by Avenue Road/Queen's Park Circle and Yonge Street.

In the 2007 redistribution, the new riding absorbed 96 per cent of the old Trinity-Spadina riding and two per cent of Toronto Centre-Rosedale.

Population: 115,361 (2006 census; an increase of 8.7% since 2001)

Political history

In 2011 the NDP's Rosario Marchese, who has held the riding since its creation in 1999, held off a strong challenge from Liberal Sarah Thomson, winning by a little more than 1,300 votes.

In 2007, Marchese beat Liberal Kate Holloway by 4,328 votes. He won by more 6,000 votes in both the 2003 and the 1999 elections.

In the old riding of Fort York, part of which would later become Trinity-Spadina, Liberal Bob Wong defeated New Democrat Joe Pantalone in 1987 by only 137 votes. Wong held several cabinet portfolios before being defeated by Marchese in 1990, by about 1,500 votes, and in 1995, by more than 2,000 votes.

St. Andrew-St. Patrick, formerly known as St. Andrew, was redistributed among the Trinity-Spadina, Toronto Centre-Rosedale and other ridings in 1999.

In 1990, New Democrat Zanana Akande won the St. Andrew-St. Patrick seat. She served as community and social services minister in Bob Rae's cabinet, but left it in the following year amid accusations of rent-gouging. She resigned from the legislature in 1994. In 1995, Tory Isabel Bassett won the riding and was later appointed to the cabinet of Mike Harris. After losing in the 1999 election, Bassett was appointed head of TVOntario.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


NDP Rosario Marchese 19,806 42.47
LIB Sarah Thomson 18,479 39.63
PC Mike Yen 5,429 11.64
GRN Tim Grant 2,405 5.16
PSN Danish Ahmed 147 0.32
SPO Guy Fogel 136 0.29
FP Silvio Ursomarzo 134 0.29
PHR Araba Ocran-Caesar 97 0.21



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4% National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56% National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61% National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526 National $82,325
Provincial 28% National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54% National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Roberta Scott
Liberal   Han Dong
NDP   Rosario Marchese
Green   Tim Grant
Libertarian    Andrew Echevarria
Vegan Environmental Party    Paul Figueiras
Party for People with Special Needs    Dan King