Party Candidate Votes Status
261/261 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Glen Murray 29,799 Elected
PC Martin Abell 9,495
NDP Kate Sellar 8,083
GRN Mark Daye 2,265
LTN Judi Falardeau 550
FP Chris Goodwin 265
PSN Lada Alekseychuk 200
VEP Harvey Rotenberg 187
COM Drew Garvie 183
PPP Robin Nurse 82
CCP Bahman Yazdanfar 78

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This downtown Toronto is home to the wealthy enclave of Rosedale in its centre, along with densely populated apartments, public housing projects and gentrified older neighbourhoods to the north and south.

The riding extends from Mount Pleasant Cemetery in the north to the Toronto Harbour in the south. In the west, it begins at University Avenue/Avenue Road, and stretches east to the Don River.

The riding includes Canada's first public housing project, Regent Park, and is home to one of the largest gay and lesbian communities in Canada.

In the 2007 redistribution, the riding absorbed 98 per cent of the old Toronto Centre-Rosedale riding as well as small parts of the Toronto-Danforth and St. Paul's ridings.

Population: 121,407 (2006 census; an increase of six per cent since 2001)

Political history

In 2011, Liberal Glen Murrary was able to hold his seat  by beating Cathy Crowe of the NDP by 13,400 votes

Murray, a former mayor of Winnipeg, also beat Crowe Feb. 2010 byelection by almost 3,600 votes. The byelection was called after Liberal George Smitherman relinquished his seat in order to take an ultimately unsuccessful run at the Toronto mayoralty.

Smitherman coasted to a comfortable 12,438-vote victory in the 2007 general election over Tory Pamela Taylor. The NDP's Sandra González finished just over 600 votes behind Taylor.

After the 1999 redistribution, Smitherman won the old Toronto Centre-Rosedale riding by a margin of more than 4,000 votes over his nearest rival, PC Durhane Wong-Rieger. Smitherman also won a convincing victory in 2003, beating Tory John Adams by more than 13,000 votes.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


LIB Glen Murray 25,075 54.85
NDP Cathy Crowe 11,496 25.15
PC Martin Abell 7,149 15.64
GRN Mark Daye 1,145 2.50
LTN Judi Falardeau 439 0.96%0.96
COM Cathy Holliday 156 0.34
VEP Harvey Rotenberg 102 0.22
FP Christopher Jason Goodwin 95 0.21%0.21
CCP Bahman Yazdanfar 29 0.06
PPP Phil Sarazen 29 0.06



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Martin Abell
Liberal   Glen Murray
NDP   Kate Sellar
Green   Mark Daye
Libertarian    Judi Falardeau
Freedom Party of Ontario    Chris Goodwin
The People    Robin Nurse
Vegan Environmental Party    Harvey Rotenberg
CCP    Bahman Yazdanfar
Communist   Drew Garvie
Party for People with Special Needs   Lada Alekseychuk