Party Candidate Votes Status
164/164 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
NDP John Vanthof 14,651 Elected
LIB S├ębastien Goyer 6,161
PC Peter Politis 4,656
NOH Gino Chitaroni 625
GRN Cody Fraser 529

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

Major population centres in this northeastern riding are Kirkland Lake, Cochrane and Iroquois Falls.

The riding extends from the Territorial District of Cochrane in the north to Lake Nipissing in the south. The Ontario-Quebec border forms its eastern boundary.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Timiskaming-Cochrane combined the former riding of Timiskaming with 19 per cent of Cochrane North, 19 per cent of Cochrane South, 19 per cent of Nipissing, 10 per cent of Sudbury East and one poll from Nickel Belt.

Population: 90,995 (2011 census; a 0.0% change from 2006)

Political history

New Democrat John Vanthof defeated Liberal Denis Bonin by 6,101 votes in 2011. In 2007, Liberal David Ramsay had edged out Vanthof by 634 votes. Ramsay did not run again in 2011.

In 2003, Ramsay trounced Tory Rick Brassard by more than 12,000 votes.

After the 1999 redistribution, Ramsay won the new Timiskaming-Cochrane riding.

In the old Timiskaming riding, Ramsay was voted in under the NDP banner in 1985. Ramsay joined the Liberals in 1986, and won the riding again in 1987, 1990 and 1995.

Tory Mike Harris, who was premier from 1995-2001, represented the Nipissing riding from 1981 until his retirement in 2001.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


NDP John Vanthof 12,632 50.12
LIB Denis Bonin 6,532 25.92
PC Randy Aulbrook 5,337 21.18
NOH Gerry Courville 391 1.55
GRN Tina Danese 312 1.24



The boundaries of this riding have changed since the last census, so accurate current demographic information is unavailable.


2014 Candidates

Conservative   Peter Politis
Liberal   Sébastien Goyer
NDP   John Vanthof
Green   Cody Fraser
Northern Ontario Heritage Party    Gino Chitaroni