Party Candidate Votes Status
145/145 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Bill Mauro 15,177 Elected
NDP Mary Kozorys 8,072
PC Harold Wilson 3,776
GRN John Northey 964
LTN Joe Talarico 546
NOH Ed Deibel 131

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This sprawling northern riding includes the city of Thunder Bay, which serves as the urban centre and the town of Atikokan. The Fort William Indian Reserve is also within the riding, which is home to Ontario's fifth highest aboriginal population.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Thunder Bay-Atikokan combined the old Fort William riding with small portions of the Lake Nipigon, Port Arthur and Rainy River ridings.

Political history

Liberal incumbent Bill Mauro beat New Democrat Mary Kozorys by 438 votes in the 2011 general election. Mauro was elected in 2003, winning by more than 11,153 votes against the NDP’s John Rafferty. In 2007, he was re-elected by the slimmest margin of  a mere 50 votes more than Rafferty.

Liberal Lyn McLeod was elected in the new riding of Thunder Bay-Atikokan in 1999 by a margin of more than 14,000 votes.

McLeod represented the old Fort William riding for the Liberals from 1987 to 1999. When she was re-elected in 1990, she succeeded David Peterson as Liberal leader in 1992. But her Liberals were soundly beaten by Mike Harris's Tories in 1995, and McLeod resigned as the leader the next year.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


LIB Bill Mauro 10,326 39.00
NDP Mary Kozorys 9,874 37.29
PC Fred Gilbert 5,815 21.96
GRN Jonathan Milnes 379 1.43
IND Marvin Robert McMenemy 86 0.32



The boundaries of this riding have changed since the last census, so accurate current demographic information is unavailable.


2014 Candidates

Conservative   Harold Wilson
Liberal   Bill Mauro
NDP   Mary Kozorys
Green   John Northey
Libertarian    Joe Talarico
Northern Ontario Heritage Party   Ed Deibel