Party Candidate Votes Status
280/280 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
PC Gila Martow 21,868 Elected
LIB Sandra Yeung Racco 21,783
NDP Cindy Hackelberg 4,058
GRN David Bergart 1,232
LTN Gene Balfour 578
FP Erin Goodwin 234

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

Elections Ontario has declared the Progressive Conservatives the winner in the riding of Thornhill after a recount up-ended what was initially declared a Liberal victory. Read the news story »

riding map

Located just north of Toronto, this riding runs between Highway 400 to the west and Highway 404 to the east. It is bordered to the north by Highway 7 and to the south by Steeles Avenue.

This riding includes that part of the city of Vaughan south of Rutherford Road and the part of Markham lying south of Highway 7.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding Thornhill was created from 25 per cent of York Centre and one-third of Markham.

Population: 131,978 (2006 census; an increase of 13.0% since 2001)

Political history

The resignation of Progressive-Conservative MPP Peter Shurman in December 2013 forced a byelection the Tories were able to win when PC runner Gila Martow beat Liberal contender Sandra Yeung Racco. Martow ended the night with 13,397 votes over 11,592 for the Liberals and 1,896 for Cindy Hackleberg of the New Democrats.

In the 2011 election, Shuman beat NDP candidate Bernie Farber, winning by a little more than 2,700 votes.

Past elections in this riding have been very close. Progressive Conservative Shurman beat Liberal incumbent Mario Racco by 1,725 votes in 2007. In 2003, Racco eked out a 796-vote win over Tory Tina Molinari.

Molinari, in turn, beat Liberal Dan Ronen by just 343 votes in the new Thornhill riding in 1999.

Before redistribution,Tory Don Cousens won the Markham riding in 1987, edging out his closest rival, Liberal Gail Newall, by fewer than 700 votes. Three years later, he trounced Liberal Frank Scarpitti by more than 10,000 votes. David Tsubouchi continued a Progressive Conservative trend with victories in 1995 (and held Markham in the 1999 poll).

York Centre was captured by the Liberals in 1987 by Greg Sorbara. Sorbara was re-elected in 1990, but swung back to the Tories in 1995, with a victory by Al Palladini.

2014 Provincial Byelection Results



Total votes


PC Gila Martow 13,438 47.89
LIB Sandra Yeung Racco 11,671 41.60
NDP Cindy Hackelberg 1,905 6.79
GRN Teresa Pun 404 1.44
LTN Gene Balfour 296 1.05
FP Erin Goodwin 153 0.55
PPP Kevin Clarke 144 0.51
PPO John Turmel 47 0.17



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Gila Martow
Liberal   Sandra Yeung Racco
NDP   Cindy Hackelberg
Green   David Bergart
Libertarian    Gene Balfour
Freedom Party of Ontario    Erin Goodwin