Party Candidate Votes Status
238/238 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
NDP Joe Cimino 14,247 Elected
LIB Andrew Olivier 13,267
PC Paula Peroni 4,653
GRN Casey J. Lalonde 1,211
LTN Steve Wilson 242
IND J. David Popescu 105

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This northern urban riding relies on mining for the bulk of its employment.

The riding consists of that part of city of Sudbury lying north of Highway 69, Long Lake Road and the northern boundary of Township of Broder.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Sudbury combined 25 per cent of Sudbury East with the old Sudbury riding.

Population: 92,048 (2011 census; a decrease of 0.1% from 2006)

Political history

Liberal Rick Bartolucci, first elected in 1995,  managed to hold onto his seat in 2011 but only defeated New Democrat Paul Loewenberg by 531 votes.

He had secured a comfortable 10,393-vote victory over New Democrat Dave Battaino in 2007. In 2003, Bartolucci routed Tory Mila Wong by 19,563 votes and had a convincing victory in the redistributed riding in 1999.

Bartolucci was elected to the old riding of Sudbury in 1995, knocking off the NDP's Sharon Murdock, who was elected in 1990.

The old Sudbury East riding was held by the NDP for more than three decades, first by Elie Martel (1967-1987) and then by his daughter, Shelley Martel, from 1987-1999. (Shelley Martel won the Nickel Belt riding after the 1999 redistribution and again in 2003.)

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


LIB Rick Bartolucci 13,752 42.26
NDP Paul Loewenberg 13,251 40.72
PC Gerry Labelle 4,409 13.55
GRN Pat Rogerson 925 2.84
FCP Carita Murphy Marketos 163 0.50
IND J. David Popescu 44 0.14



The boundaries of this riding have changed since the last census, so accurate current demographic information is unavailable.


2014 Candidates

Conservative   Paula Peroni
Liberal   Andrew Olivier
NDP   Joe Cimino
Green   Casey J. Lalonde
Libertarian    Steve Wilson
Independent    J. David Popescu