Party Candidate Votes Status
215/215 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Brad Duguid 19,251 Elected
PC David Ramalho 7,566
NDP Carol Baker 7,135
GRN Edward Yaghledjian 1,086

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This densely populated Toronto riding is primarily residential, with a large number of small businesses.

It extends from Ellesmere Road and Highway 401 in the north to Eglinton Avenue in the south. In the west, it begins at Victoria Park Avenue and stretches east to Markham Road.

Following the 1999 redistribution, the new Scarborough Centre riding combined 43 per cent of the old Scarborough Centre, 75 per cent of Scarborough-Ellesmere and 43 per cent of Scarborough West.

Population: 111,911 (2011 census; an increase of 3.6% since 2006)

Political history

Liberal Brad Duguid has won convincingly in the last three elections. This year, having been appointed Minister of Training, Colleges & Universities, Duguid only has more visibility. He won the riding in 2011 by 26.3 percentage points over PC Carol Williams. 

In 2007, he beat Progressive Conservative Samy Appadurai by 9,455 votes. Four years earlier he managed a 10,072-vote victory over PC incumbent Marilyn Mushinski.

Mushinski claimed the redistributed riding in 1999, beating Liberal Costas Manios.

Mulshinski beat New Democrat incumbent David Warner in the old riding of Scarborough-Ellesmere in 1995.

Other than a single NDP win in 1967, the Tories held the old riding of Scarborough Centre from 1963 to 1987, when it fell to Liberal Cindy Nicholas. The seat went to New Democrat Steve Owens in 1990, but returned to the Tories in 1995 when Dan Newman won the riding.

Former NDP Leader Stephen Lewis won elections in the old riding of Scarborough West in 1963, 1967, 1971, 1975 and 1977. New Democrats Richard Johnston was voted in after a 1979 byelection and held it until 1990, when the NDP's Anne Swarbrick was elected.

Tory James Brown won in 1995.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


LIB Brad Duguid 16,150 51.31
PC Carol Williams 7,630 24.24
NDP Kathleen Mathurin 6,833 21.71
GRN Jeff Mole 557 1.77
FP David Driver 307 0.98



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   David Ramalho
Liberal   Brad Duguid
NDP   Carol Baker
Green   Edward Yaghledjian