Party Candidate Votes Status
180/180 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
LIB Soo Wong 17,342 Elected
PC Liang Chen 12,141
NDP Alex Wilson 4,131
GRN Pauline Thompson 912
PPP Kevin Clarke 390

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This riding is located in the northeast area of Toronto and is bounded by Steeles Avenue (the northern Toronto city limit) in the north and Ellesmere Road in the south, Victoria Park Avenue in the west and the CN Rail line in the east.

In the 1999 redistribution, the new riding added about 15 per cent of Scarborough-Ellesmere to the existing Scarborough-Agincourt.

Population: 111,867 (2006 census; an increase of 1.1% since 2001)

Political history

Liberal Gerry Phillips has won every election in Scarborough-Agincourt since its creation in 1987. He did not seek re-election in 2011, but the riding stayed red anyway. Former school trustee Soo Wong will fight the election for the Liberals.

In 2007, Phillips trounced Progressive Conservative John Del Grande by just over 11,000 votes. In 2003, he beat Tory Yolanda Chan by 11,834 votes. Wong did not get elected with those wide margins, but beat her PC rival by a little under 5,000 votes.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


LIB Soo Wong 14,903 46.71
PC Liang Chen 10,216 32.02
NDP Paul Choi 5,019 15.73
GRN Pauline Thompson 822 2.58
LTN Doug McLarty 654 2.05
PCP Priya Ahuja 208 0.65
FP Sabrina Wall 83 0.26



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Liang Chen
Liberal   Soo Wong
NDP   Alex Wilson
Green   Pauline Thompson
The People    Kevin Clarke