Party Candidate Votes Status
256/256 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
PC John Yakabuski 25,241 Elected
LIB Rod Boileau 7,897
NDP Brian Dougherty 5,978
GRN Benjamin Wright 1,337
COR Murray Reid 490
IND Chad Beckwith-Smith 392

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This central riding covers more than 12,000 square kilometres and includes the communities of Pembroke, Deep River, Renfrew, Petawawa, Chalk River and Arnprior. Canadian Forces Base Petawawa, Atomic Energy Canada and Petawawa National Forestry Institute are all within the riding.

As a result of the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke combined a third of Lanark-Renfrew with the whole of Renfrew North.

Population: 102,537 (2011 census; an increase of 3.8% since 2006)

Political history

Progressive Conservative John Yakabuski won for a third time in 2011, defeating Liberal John O’Leary by a huge margin of 21,363 votes.

Yakabuski had beat Liberal challengers in the previous two elections as well. He handily beat Liberal Sean Kelly by 15,070 votes in 2007, a much improved showing compared to 2003, when the Tory scraped out a 480-vote win over Liberal Derek Nighbor.

Liberal Sean Conway was voted to the new riding of Renfrew-Nipissing-Pembroke in 1999, capturing 53 per cent of the vote. He decided to retire before the 2003 election.

The old riding of Renfrew North was held by Conway between 1975 and 1999. The old riding of Lanark-Renfrew was held by the Tories between 1987 and 1999.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


PC John Yakabuski 27,594 70.80
LIB John O'Leary 6,231 15.99
NDP Brian A. Dougherty 4,272 10.96
GRN Kyle Jones 569 1.46
COR Murray Reid 309 0.79



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   John Yakabuski
Liberal   Rod Boileau
NDP   Brian Dougherty
Green   Benjamin Wright
Ontario Provincial Confederation of Regions Party    Murray Reid
Independent   Chad Beckwith-Smith