Party Candidate Votes Status
203/203 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
NDP Cheri DiNovo 18,400 Elected
LIB Nancy Leblanc 17,875
PC Jamie Ellerton 5,782
GRN Tim Rudkins 2,489
NAP Matthew Vezina 306
LTN Redmond Weissenberger 191
FP Melanie Motz 129

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This southwest Toronto riding includes mansions along the Humber River and boarding houses for former psychiatric patients in the Parkdale neighbourhood.

The riding extends from the Canadian Pacific Railway line in the north to Lake Ontario in the south, the Humber River in the west to the Canadian National Exhibition grounds in the east.

As a result of the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Parkdale-High Park combined almost all of High Park-Swansea with 60 per cent of Parkdale and 20 per cent of York South.

Population: 105,103 (2011 census; a 2.9% jump from 2006)

Political history

New Democrat Cheri Di Novo, first elected in a September 2006 byelection, beat Liberal Cortney Pasternak with a 18,365 to 14,877 vote win in 2011.

Di Novo, a United Church of Canada minister, beat Sylvia Watson by almost 7,000 votes in the 2007 election.

The 2006 byelection was called after Liberal Gerard Kennedy relinquished his seat to run for the federal Liberal leadership that eventually went to Stéphane Dion.

Kennedy was first elected to the legislature in a 1996 byelection in York South, won the new riding of Parkdale-High Park in 1999, easily defeating Tory Annamarie Castrilli with almost 55 per cent of the total vote.

Kennedy won again in 2003, routing Tory Stephen Snell by more than 16,000 votes.

New Democrat Ed Ziemba represented the old riding of High-Park Swansea from 1975 to 1981. Tory Yuri Shymko won in 1981 and 1985, only to lose to Liberal David Fleet in 1987. NDP candidate Elaine Ziemba defeated Fleet in 1990, but lost to Tory Derwyn Shea in 1995.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


NDP Cheri DiNovo 18,605 46.35
LIB Cortney Pasternak 14,915 37.16
PC Joe Ganetakos 4,728 11.78
GRN Justin Trottier 1,332 3.32
LTN Rod Rojas 184 0.46
NA Bohdan Ewhen Radejewsky 106 0.26
NA George Babula 87 0.22%0.22
IND Cecilia Luu 85 0.21%0.21
PPP Thomas Zaugg 55 0.14
IND Istvan Tar 39 0.10




Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Jamie Ellerton
Liberal   Nancy Leblanc
NDP   Cheri DiNovo
Green   Tim Rudkins
Libertarian    Redmond Weissenberger
Freedom Party of Ontario    Melanie Motz
None of the Above Party (NOTA)    Matthew Vezina