Party Candidate Votes Status
197/197 polls Updated: Jun. 13, 2014 1:49 AM EDT
PC Ernie Hardeman 18,949 Elected
NDP Bryan Smith 10,560
LIB Daniel Moulton 8,742
GRN Mike Farlow 1,984
FP Tim Hodges 384
LTN Devin Wright 364

All results are unofficial until final ballot counts are verified by Elections Ontario. CBC is not responsible for the content of external sites.

View Interactive Results Map »

Riding profile

riding map

This southern riding is primarily rural and includes the towns of Tillsonburg, Ingersoll and Woodstock.

Manufacturing is the main industry, with the area being home to several small auto parts and textiles factories. Agriculture also plays a role, particularly dairy production and tobacco farming.

As a result of the 1999 redistribution, the new riding of Oxford added a small part of Norfolk to the existing Oxford riding.

Population: 102,756 (2006 census; an increase of 3.5% since 2001)

Political history

Progressive Conservative Ernie Hardeman was re-elected in 2011, with a comfortable 54.87% of the vote.

Hardeman prevailed over Liberal Brian Jackson by 6,990 votes in the 2007 election. Hardeman was first elected to the riding in 1995. He knocked off New Democrat Kimble Sutherland, who was elected for one term in 1990.

Oxford elected Tory Harry Parrott in 1971, 1975 and 1977, then another Tory, Dick Treleaven, in 1981 and 1985. The Tories' winning streak ended in 1987, when Liberal Charlie Tatham defeated Treleaven.

2011 Provincial Election Results



Total votes


PC Ernie Hardeman 20,651 54.87
LIB David Hilderley 9,407 25.00
NDP Dorothy Marie Eisen 5,885 15.64
GRN Catherine Stewart-Mott 1,336 3.55
FCP Leonard Vanderhoeven 355 0.94



Unemployment Rate
Provincial 6.4%
National 6.6%
Provincial 13.56%
National 13.71%
Home Owners
Provincial 26.61%
National 26.92%
Avg Family Income
Provincial $90,526
National $82,325
Provincial 28%
National 20%
Post-Secondary Degree
Provincial 33.54%
National 33.35%

Source: Statistics Canada, 2006 Census

2014 Candidates

Conservative   Ernie Hardeman
Liberal   Daniel Moulton
NDP   Bryan Smith
Green   Mike Farlow
Libertarian    Devin Wright
Freedom Party of Ontario    Tim Hodges